Skip to main content Skip to footer
More Than 300 Baylor Student-Athletes Honored For Academic Excellence

Jan. 25, 2013

2012 Baylor Fall Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll Members Get Acrobat Reader

For the fourth time in the last five semesters, more than 300 Baylor student-athletes earned Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll status, as BU produced 313 honorees for the fall 2012 term, including 59 with perfect 4.0 marks for the term.

That total ranks as the second-highest in school history behind the record 326 student-athletes who were so honored at the end of the fall 2011 semester.

The cumulative grade-point average of all Baylor student-athletes for the fall 2012 semester was a 3.12, the ninth consecutive semester their cumulative GPA topped the 3.0 mark. All-told, 129 Baylor student-athletes were named to the fall 2012 Dean's List, which is awarded to students with a 3.7 GPA, enrolled in at least 12 hours and make no grade lower than a C. In addition, 23 student-athletes earned their Baylor degrees during December 2012 ceremonies, 21 of whom earned bachelor's degrees.

Sixteen of Baylor's 19 varsity teams registered a fall 2012 semester cumulative grade-point average of at least a 3.00 with three programs establishing an all-time best for any term--softball (3.54), men's cross country (3.45) and equestrian (3.35).

Baylor student-athletes who registered a 4.0 grade-point average during the fall 2012 semester were: Melanie Appel (equestrian), Doug Ashby (baseball), Leah Aultman (women's soccer), Nicole Bardaji (volleyball), Ryan Batson (equestrian), Kate Beaudoin (women's soccer), Sydney Betke (softball), Greg Bostick (men's track & field), Kolt Browder (baseball), Ashley Byrd (volleyball), Whitney Canion (softball), Ben Carl (baseball), Deonka Ceaser (acrobatics & tumbling), Matthew Cochran (men's track & field), Sarah Crockett (softball), Conner Daniels (equestrian), Karolina Filipiak (women's tennis), Katya Finta (acrobatics & tumbling), Leah Frazier (women's track & field), Tara Funk (equestrian), Jessica Gabler (women's track & field), Nate Goodwin (baseball), Chris Gordon (men's tennis), Sarah Guhl (women's track & field), Erin Hegarty (women's track & field), Megan Hermann (equestrian), Mike Hicks (football), Megan Horter (women's tennis), Justine Hovden (women's soccer), Alexis Humenik (equestrian), Brittany Hunemuller (women's soccer), Taylor Jackson (men's track & field), Kelsi Kettler (softball), Kim Kirby (women's track & field), Robin Landrith (softball), Dana Larsen (women's soccer), Logan Lowery (men's basketball), Chris McElroy (men's track & field), Catie McGowan (women's soccer), Kevin Mitchell (football), Blake Niccum (men's track & field), Sona Novakova (women's tennis), Courtney Pate (acrobatics & tumbling), Liz Paul (softball), Ginger Plemmons (acrobatics & tumbling), Emily Reder (equestrian), Katherine Riddle (equestrian), Olivia Rogers (equestrian), Jordan Rux (men's tennis), Jaden Schupp (equestrian), Kathy Shelton (softball), Lisa Sliwinski (women's soccer), Valerie Sternebeck (women's golf), Hilary Tandy (equestrian), Sue Carol Thompson (equestrian), Drew Tolson (baseball), Alexa Wilde (women's soccer), Kim Woodsum (equestrian) and Catherine Zabilski (women's track & field).

Acknowledging all student-athletes, the Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll is an inclusive honor for varsity sports sponsored by the league membership. The Honor Roll is recorded and released each semester and recognizes those student-athletes who had a 3.00 or better grade-point average in the previous semester. More than 3,000 student-athletes each semester have been named to the Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll in the league's 17-year history. Baylor has had more than 6,400 student-athletes honored since the Honor Roll began.

Online Store