Skip to main content Skip to footer
12 Earn Big 12 Dr. Gerald Lage Academic Honor

Robert Griffin III

March 6, 2012

Complete Big 12 List

IRVING, Texas – Twelve Baylor student-athletes earned the second annual Dr. Gerald Lage award, the Big 12 Conference’s highest academic honor, league officials announced Tuesday.

Baylor made up one-fifth of the 60 Big 12 student-athletes that received recognition for the award. The honor is in memory of Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State University faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was the chairman on three occasions, in 1985-86, 1993-94 and most recently in 2003-04.

Baylor’s list of athletes was the second-highest total for a Big 12 member institution, while each of the league’s 10 teams were represented. The Bears’ honorees included Alex Colyer (softball), Robert Griffin III (football), Brittany Hunemiller (soccer), Taylor Jackson (men’s track and field), Bethany Johnston (soccer), Blake Niccum (men’s track and field), Lindsay Palmer (women’s basketball), Diamond Richardson (women’s track and field), Jaden Schupp (equestrian), Jessica Ubanyionwu (women’s track and field), Cate Westenhover (women’s track and field) and Kim Woodsum (equestrian).

Lage had been a member of the OSU family since 1966, when he joined the College of Business Administration as an assistant professor. During his tenure at Oklahoma State, he served as the director of graduate studies in the department of economics (1974-77), head of the department of economics and finance (1978-84), director of the OSU Center for International Trade and Development (1985-87), and associate dean for research and graduate programs in the college of business administration (1997-2004).

In order to be eligible for the accolade, student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year. The honoree, which can only be recognized once, should have 100 hours of earned credit with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.80 at the time of the nomination.

The Dr. Gerald Lage award winners will receive public recognition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships this week.

Online Store