Skip to main content Skip to footer
2013 Dr. Gerald Lage Award Recipients Named

Complete Big 12 Release

IRVING, Texas -- Seventy-five Big 12 student-athletes are recipients of the third annual Dr. Gerald Lage award, the Conference's highest academic honor. Baylor paced all Big 12 institutions with 14 honorees.

The honor is in memory of Lage, who served as the Oklahoma State faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was the chairman on three occasions (1985-86, 93-94 and 2003-04).

Lage had been a member of the Oklahoma State family since 1966, when he joined the College of Business Administration as an assistant professor. During his tenure at OSU, he served as the director of graduate studies in the department of economics (1974-77), head of the department of economics and finance (1978-84), director of the OSU Center for International Trade and Development (1985-87), and associate dean for research and graduate programs in the college of business administration (1997-2004).

In order to be eligible for the accolade, student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year. The honoree, which can only be recognized once, should have 100 hours of earned credit with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.80 at the time of the nomination.

The Dr. Gerald Lage award winners will receive public recognition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships.

Name Class Sport Major
Courtney Acarregui Sr. Equestrian Finance/Entrepreneurship
Melanie Appel Sr. Equestrian Finance/Marketing
Ryan Batson Sr. Equestrian Biology
Kolt Browder Sr. Baseball Mechanical Engineering
Carlie Davis Sr. Soccer International Studies
Samantha Francis Sr. Equestrian Medical Humanities
Jessica Gabler Sr. Women’s Track Environmental Science
Megann Hermann Jr. Equestrian Biochemistry/Honors
Dana Larsen Sr. Soccer Biochemistry
Jacob Neubert Sr. Men's Basketball Accounting
Makenzie Robertson Jr. Women's Basketball Marketing
Olivia Rogers Sr. Equestrian Sports, Sponsorship and Sales/Management
Lisa Sliwinski Sr. Soccer Biology
Hilary Tandy Jr. Equestrian Neuroscience/Honors

Online Store