Go Bears!
GO Bears!
Go Bears!
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Baylor Honors 1980 SWC Champion Football Team at Homecoming 2000

March 21, 2001

The 1980 undefeated Southwest Conference Champion Baylor football team was the Honor Team at Homecoming 2000. Members of the squad came early to play golf together on Friday afternoon before having a dinner in the Letterman's Lounge that night. The dinner program was emceed by Jim Evans, Baylor football letterman from 1957-1960.

After dinner, team members had opportunities to tell about themselves and their families. Many took this chance to tell some interesting stories about each other and memories they had of their days at Baylor. It was close to midnight before the meeting broke up.

Pictured below are members of the team who were able to make a 7 a.m. breakfast and picture-taking before participating in the annual homecoming parade. After the parade, team members and their wives met to have lunch with each other and with other Baylor lettermen from all sports and years.

Photo Name

1st Tier: Jerry Paul Johnson, Bruce Davis, Blake Hall, Jeff Reeter, Tim Strong, Claude Brusse, Clint Davis
2nd Tier: Cedric Mack, Scott Smith, Ken Buckley, Lynn Glass, Jay Jeffrey, Mike Fisher, Kyle Rose, Geoff Gandy, Buzzy Nelson, Jeff Fletcher
3rd Tier (left): Walter Abercrombie, Doak Field, Ed Bashaw, Philip Ward, Frank Ditta
3rd Tier (right): Roy Smythe, Mark Kirschner, Doug Mackay
4th Tier (left): Coach Bill Hicks, trainer Skip Cox, Eddy Gregory
Back Row: James Royal, coach Grant Teaff, Doug Reid, Steve Malpass, Larry Inman, David Mangrum, Boyd Brigman, Alfred Anderson, Tommy Tabor

Other team members who were in attendance but missed the picture were: Robert Bledsoe, Mike Brannan, Joe Campbell, David Chandler, Raymond Cockrell, Richard Cundiff, Drew Douglas, Sam Houston, Michael Mackey, Jim May, Vann McElroy, Mike Sims, Mike Singletary and Michie White.

Also in attendance were coaches Cotton Davidson, Bill Lane, Billy Mills, Corky Nelson and Wade Turner. Team doctor Dr. Red Covington also participated.

Homecoming for 2001 will be Oct. 27, when the Texas Tech Red Raiders come to Waco to play the Bears. News about the Honor Teams for this year's Homecoming will be brought to this website next week, March 26-30. More than one team will be honored. Please check out the website next week for this news.