Skip to main content Skip to footer
Athletic Communications Staff Honored by FWAA

Baylor joins Texas and Oklahoma as previous FWAA honorees.

May 3, 2013

FWAA Release

DALLAS (FWAA) -- Baylor University's office of athletic communications was named to the Football Writers Association of America "Super 11" field of sports information departments, which recognizes the best in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision during the 2012 season, the organization announced Friday.

"There are many outstanding sports information departments representing schools across the nation," said Tim Griffin, the FWAA's 2010 president and chairman of the Super 11 selection committee. "But we continue to feel it is very important to honor the best of the best - including some we've honored multiple times over the years. These 11 departments are consistently exemplary above and beyond the call of duty."

"Our communications staff is doing outstanding work covering and promoting Baylor football, and working with the local and national media covering our program," Baylor Director of Athletics Ian McCaw said.

The other 10 schools honored include Bowling Green State, Cincinnati, Georgia, Houston, Minnesota, Nebraska, Oregon State, Vanderbilt, Virginia and Wyoming.

"Our communications staff does an excellent job not only promoting Baylor football, but all of our teams, and I'm glad that the Football Writers Association has taken note of it with this special honor," said Baylor Executive Associate A.D. for External Affairs Nick Joos, who oversees the communications staff. "They work very hard behind the scenes in support of our coaches and student-athletes, while at the same time providing outstanding service to the media who cover the football program, and it is rewarding to see that effort recognized publicly on a national level."

The Baylor communications staff, which includes associate athletics director for communications Heath Nielsen, director Julie Bennett, associate director David Kaye, assistant directors Kyle Cornish, Sean Doerre and Zach Peters, coordinator of strategic messaging Kellen Coleman and administrative assistant Lauren Phillips, joins Texas and Oklahoma as previous FWAA "Super 11" honorees from the Big 12 Conference.

Criteria in determining the winners not only included how press boxes/operations were run, but the quality and timeliness of information provided, the amount of information presented and appropriately updated on websites, personal responsiveness to media inquires as well as the accessibility of players, head and assistant coaches. The ratings also took into consideration the departments that went the extra mile in servicing the media.

"Just by the mere fact we have nine new departments this season shows that a growing number of schools are realizing the importance of good SID departments," said FWAA executive director Steve Richardson. "We salute these schools and the ones in the past who have been selected to this group."

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

Online Store