Skip to main content Skip to footer
36 Student-Athletes Honored at Banquet

Diamond Richardson, along with Robert Griffin III, received the Big 12 Conference Senior Award.

WACO, Texas - Thirty-six Baylor University student-athletes and 10 of its athletic teams were honored for academic excellence and community service during the 2012Student-Athlete banquet in the Ferrell Center.

"Tonight's banquet is the conclusion of another outstanding academic year in Baylor Athletics. Our student-athletes continue to prove that Baylor is dedicated to excellence in the classroom and in competition," said Baylor Director of Athletics Ian McCaw. "The accomplishments of our student-athletes continue to amaze. Academic excellence is our tradition in Baylor Athletics and our student-athletes spend countless hours after games and practices in order to excel in the classroom."

Each year, the University salutes the student-athlete from each team that records the highest grade-point average. Academic achievement awards were presented to the following Baylor student-athletes:

Jacob Neubert - Men's Basketball
Lindsay Palmer * - Women's Basketball
Kate Harris - Volleyball
Liz Paul * - Softball
Kolt Browder * - Baseball
Doug Ashby * - Baseball
Nick Florence - Football
Joakim Mikkelsen - Men's Golf
Kaylin Terry - Women's Golf
Julian Bley - Men's Tennis
Diana Nakic - Women's Tennis
Bethany Johnston * - Soccer
Dana Larsen * - Soccer
Becca Luedeker - Women's Track & Field
Sara Bates - Women's Cross Country
Ryan Batson * v Equestrian
Lindsay Graham * - Equestrian
Jaden Schupp * - Equestrian
Hilary Tandy * - Equestrian
Hayden Loudenslager - Men's Track
Blake Niccum * - Men's Cross Country
Ginger Plemmons - Acrobatics & Tumbling
Sarah Sturm -- Trainer

*denotes 4.0 GPA

The Big 12 Conference Senior Award, which recognizes a male and female senior athlete who has excelled in the classroom, on the field and in the community, was awarded to football's Robert Griffin III and women's track's Diamond Richardson.

The President's Cup, which is awarded to the team that carries the highest cumulative grade-point average, was presented to the soccer team.

The Provost's Award, which is given to teams for academic accomplishment, was given to Baylor's baseball, men's basketball, men's and women's cross country, women's golf, soccer, softball, men's tennis and women's track teams. This award honors teams that established their highest cumulative grade point average in team history.

The NCAA Champs/Life Skills program is designed to encourage academic excellence and community outreach for student-athletes across the country. Student-athletes from all sports participate in a variety of community outreach programs throughout the academic year. For the third straight season, coach Ellen White's equestrian team was the winner of Baylor's Champs Cup for community service.

Women's basketball's Lindsay Palmer was presented with her Elite 89 plaque, the second of her career. The Elite 89, an award founded by the NCAA, honors the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA's 89 championships.

Women's basketball's Terran Condrey, soccer's Staz Salinas and men's basketball's Quincy Acy were recipients of the third John Westbrook Student-Athlete Achievement Award which annually recognizes male and female Baylor senior student-athletes who have overcome great personal, academic or emotional challenges to achieve academic success while making positive contributions to their respective teams. These young men and women have preserved throughout their college careers to ensure continued success after their Baylor playing careers are finished.

In addition, 14 student-athletes earned the Dr. Gerald Lage award, the Big 12 Conference's highest academic honor. Baylor student-athletes listed include: Taylor Jackson and Blake Niccum (men's track), Diamond Richardson, Jessica Ubanyionwu and Cate Westenhover (women's track), Alex Colyer (softball), Robert Griffin III (football), Brittany Hunemuller and Bethany Johnston (soccer), Kim Woodsum and Jaden Schupp (equestrian) and Lindsay Palmer (women's basketball).

Football's Terrance Ganaway (fall, 2011) and softball's Whitney Canion (spring, 2011) were honored as Big 12 Conference Chick-fil-A Community of Champions winners. The award is based on academics, community service and leadership/sportsmanship.

Each year all student-athletes are asked to vote for the Baylor professor they believed had the greatest impact on their academic career. Twenty-one individuals received Outstanding Professor Awards during Monday's banquet: Blair Browning (Communication Studies), Dale Connally (Health, Human Performance and Recreation), John Cunningham (Communication Studies), Jane Damron (Communication Studies), Anna Garland (Sociology), Allyson Irom (Spanish), Loeen Irons (Health, Human Performance and Recreation), Randy Jacobs (Sociology), Roz Kennerson-Baty (Communication Studies), Rizalia Klausmeyer (Chemistry), John Knue (Business), Michael Korpi (Film and Digital Media), Paul LaBounty (Health, Human Performance and Recreation), Larry Lehr (Environmental Studies), Carolyn Monroe (Business), Jim Moshinskie (Information Systems), Steve Sadler (Religion), Kim Scott (Health, Human Performance and Recreation), Casey Stanislaw (Modern Foreign Language), Phil Van Auken (Management) and Lori Wrzesinski (Communication Speech Disorders).

Online Store