Skip to main content Skip to footer
Student-Athletes Honored at Academic Banquet

Nick Florence, along with Brittney Griner, received the Big 12 Conference senior award.

WACO, Texas - Thirty-two Baylor University student-athletes and seven of its athletic teams were honored for academic excellence and community service during the 2012-2013 Student-Athlete banquet in the Ferrell Center on Monday, May 6.

"The banquet is the conclusion of another outstanding academic year in Baylor Athletics. Our student-athletes continue to prove that Baylor is dedicated to excellence in the classroom and in competition," said Baylor Director of Athletics Ian McCaw. "Academic excellence is our tradition in Baylor Athletics and our student-athletes spend countless hours after games and practices in order to excel in the classroom."

Each year, the University salutes the student-athlete from each team that records the highest grade-point average. Academic achievement awards were presented to the following Baylor student-athletes:

Logan Lowery - Men's Basketball
Makenzie Robertson - Women's Basketball
Nicole Bardaji - Volleyball
Liz Paul * - Softball
Sarah Crockett * - Softball
Kolt Browder * - Baseball
Doug Ashby * - Baseball
Rhett Butler - Football
Jerry Ruiz - Men's Golf
Kaylin Terry - Women's Golf
Chris Gordon * - Men's Tennis
Megan Horter - Women's Tennis
Dana Larsen * - Soccer
Leah Aultman * - Soccer
Alexa Wilde * - Soccer
Briana Schrader - Women's Track & Field
Erin Hegarty * - Women's Cross Country
Sara Guhl * - Women's Cross Country
Ryan Batson * - Equestrian
Sue Thompson * - Equestrian
Jaden Schupp * - Equestrian
Hillary Tandy * - Equestrian
Megan Hermann * - Equestrian
Greg Bostick * - Men's Track
Blake Niccum * - Men's Track
Taylor Jackson - Men's Cross Country
Ginger Plemmons - Acrobatics & Tumbling
Matt Boyd - Trainer

*denotes 4.0 GPA

The Big 12 Conference Senior Award, which recognizes a male and female senior athlete who has excelled in the classroom, on the field and in the community, was awarded to football's Nick Florence and women's basketball's Brittney Griner.

The President's Cup, which is awarded to the team that carries the highest cumulative grade-point average, was presented to the softball team.

The Provost Award for Academic Accomplishment was given to Baylor's men's basketball, men's and women's cross country, women's golf, softball, equestrian, volleyball and women's track teams. This award honors teams that established their highest cumulative grade point average in team history.

The NCAA Champs/Life Skills program is designed to encourage academic excellence and community outreach for student-athletes across the country. Student-athletes from all sports participate in a variety of community outreach programs throughout the academic year. The track and field team team was the winner of Baylor's C.H.A.M.P.S. Cup for community service.

Women's basketball's Shanay Washington and football's Nick Johnson were recipients of the fourth John Westbrook Student-Athlete Achievement Award which annually recognizes male and female Baylor senior student-athletes who have overcome great personal, academic or emotional challenges to achieve academic success while making positive contributions to their respective teams. These young men and women have preserved throughout their college careers to ensure continued success after their Baylor playing careers are finished.

Each year all student-athletes are asked to vote for the Baylor professor they believed had the greatest impact on their academic career. Twenty-five individuals received Outstanding Professor Awards during Monday's banquet: Matthew Bates (Health, Human Performance and Recreation), Blair Browning (Communication Studies), Vannessa Castleberry (Chemistry), Mona Choucair (English), John Cunningham (Communication Studies), Derek Dodson (Religion), Kevin Dougherty (Sociology), Cari Edison (Accounting), Alton Hassell (Chemistry), Fred Hulme (Business), Kathy Hutchinson (Mathematics), Randy Jacobs (Sociology), Paul LaBounty (Health, Human Performance and Recreation), Roz Kemmerson-Baty (Communication Studies), Larry Lehr (Environmental Studies), Laura McBride (English), Jeremy McElroy (Business), Glenn Miller (Health, Human Performance and Recreation), Jim Moshinskie (Business), Kathryn Mueller (Sociology), Coretta Pittman (English), Aaron Primrose (Chemistry), Kim Scott (Health, Human Performance and Recreation), Casey Stanislaw (Spanish) and Sarah Walden (BIC-Honors College).

Online Store