Baylor Athletics Honors Individuals and Teams at Annual Banquet

May 6, 2014

WACO, Texas - Twenty-seven Baylor University student-athletes and seven of its athletic teams were honored for academic excellence and community service during the 2013-2014 Student-Athlete Banquet in the Ferrell Center on Monday, May 5.

"The banquet is the conclusion of another outstanding academic year in Baylor Athletics. Our student-athletes continue to prove that Baylor is dedicated to excellence in the classroom and in competition," said Baylor Director of Athletics Ian McCaw. "Academic excellence is our tradition in Baylor Athletics and our student-athletes spend countless hours after games and practices in order to excel in the classroom."

Each year, the University salutes the student-athlete from each team that records the highest grade-point average. Academic achievement awards were presented to the following Baylor student-athletes:

Courtney Pate - Acrobatics & Tumbling
Doug Ashby * - Baseball
Logan Lowery - Men's Basketball
Makenzie Robertson - Women's Basketball
Matthew Cochran - Men's Cross Country
Erin Hegarty * - Women's Cross Country
Kimberly Walbek * - Women's Cross Country
Conner Daniels - Equestrian
Collin Brence - Football
Patrick Bailey - Men's Golf
Laura Lonardi - Women's Golf
Alexa Wilde * - Soccer
Whitney Canion * - Softball
Sarah Crockett * - Softball
Robin Landrith * - Softball
Liz Paul * - Softball
Patrick Pradella - Men's Tennis
Megan Horter - Women's Tennis
Greg Bostick * - Men's Track & Field
Sara Guhl - Women's Track & Field
Nicole Bardaji - Volleyball
Kelli Gunter - Trainer
*denotes 4.0 GPA

The Big 12 Conference Senior Award, which recognizes a male and female senior athlete who has excelled in the classroom, on the field and in the community, was awarded to men's basketball's Brady Heslip and softball's Whitney Canion.

The President's Cup, which is awarded to the team that carries the highest cumulative grade-point average, was presented to the men's cross country team.

The Provost Award for Academic Accomplishment was given to Baylor's baseball, softball, women's basketball, men's cross country, equestrian, men's golf and volleyball teams. This award honors teams that established their highest cumulative grade point average in team history.

The NCAA Champs/Life Skills program is designed to encourage academic excellence and community outreach for student-athletes across the country. Student-athletes from all sports participate in a variety of community outreach programs throughout the academic year. The equestrian team was the winner of Baylor's C.H.A.M.P.S. Cup for community service.

Track's Tiffani McReynolds and football's Terrance Lloyd and Cyril Richardson were recipients of the fifth John Westbrook Student-Athlete Achievement Awards which annually recognizes male and female Baylor senior student-athletes who have overcome great personal, academic or emotional challenges to achieve academic success while making positive contributions to their respective teams. These young men and women have preserved throughout their college careers to ensure continued success after their Baylor playing careers are finished.

Each year all student-athletes are asked to vote for the Baylor professor they believed had the greatest impact on their academic career. Twenty-three individuals received Outstanding Professor Awards during Monday's banquet: Ashley Barrett (Communication Studies), Blair Browning (Communication Studies), Vanessa Castleberry (Chemistry), Mona Choucair (English), John Cunningham (Communication Studies), Jane Damron (Communication Studies), Maria de Mesa (Chemistry & Biology), Kevin Dougherty (Sociology), Cari Edison (Accounting), Adam Flores (Theatre), Alton Hassell (Chemistry), Kelly Iverson (Religion), Randy Jacobs (Sociology), Paul LaBounty (Health, Human Performance and Recreation), Larry Lehr (Environmental Studies), Mar Magnusen (Health, Human Performance, and Recreation), Heidi Marcum (Environmental Studies), Jeremy McElroy (Business), Marcie Moehnke (Biology), Jim Moshinskie (Information Systems), Maxey Parrish (Journalism, Public Relations), Hugh Riley (Psychology and Neuroscience) and Steve Sadler (Religion).

In addition, 17 student-athletes were honored as graduates of Baylor Athletics' Leadership 360 program:

Sune Agbuke - women's basketball
Troy Baker - football
Hunter Brook - men's track
Jesse Brooks - men's track
Tara Funk - equestrian
Taylor Heatherly - soccer
Holly Holl - softball
Mariah Kelly - women's track
Hayden Loudenslager - men's track
Kat Ludlow - soccer
Ashely Ann McGhee - equestrian
Selby Polley - soccer
Grayson Porter - baseball
Jessica Shadley - women's track
Taylor Torres - men's track
Robert Verzaal - men's tennis
Henry Vildosola - men's track

Online Store