Skip to main content Skip to footer
School-Record 184 Named To Spring Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll.

June 28, 2006

Baylor's Spring 2006 Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll Members
Download Free Acrobat Reader

A school-record 184 Baylor student-athletes were named to the 2006 spring semester Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll released Wednesday, including 25 with 4.00 grade-point averages. For the 2005-06 academic year, a school-record 371 Baylor student-athletes were honored on the Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll to boost the school's 10-year total to more than 3,100 honorees.

"We take a great deal of pride in the performance of our student-athletes in the classroom," said Baylor Director of Athletics Ian McCaw. "It is a testement to the hard work and dedication of our student-athletes, coaches and academic staff."

During the spring 2006 semester, 165, or 43.3 percent, of Baylor's 381 student-athletes had a 3.0 grade point average or better. The cumulative grade point average for all 18 Baylor teams over the spring term was a 2.92 with the NCAA Tournament entrant Lady Bear softball team posting a department-high 3.43 mark.

Baylor student-athletes posting a 4.00 grade-point average for the spring term included Lyndsy Bedell (track), Shawn Bell (football), Brittany Brockman (track), Nicole Brown (equestrian), Lee Chandler (football), Robin Chumura (equestrian), Kim Crook (equestrian), Melanie Hamerly (volleyball), Ryan Jeffrey (football), Desmond Jenkins (football), Ashley Korol (track), Caroline Korsawe (tennis), Nicole LeBlanc (volleyball), Wade Mackey (baseball), Jennifer Marquez (track), Mel McDonald (equestrian), Brian Newman (track), Brett Phillips (track), Stephanie Pomes (softball), Bo Price (track), Anna Rehnholm (golf), Ginny Rosario-Tull (soccer), Erik Vance (track), Kim Wilmoth (softball) and Brittani Zonker (soccer).

Sixty-three (63) Baylor student-athletes were named to the 2005-06 Academic All-Big 12 teams, including 46 first-team honorees. Four individuals--football's Daniel Sepulveda (first team), baseball's Zach Dillon (first team), softball's Kelly Osburn (third team) and track & field's Brittany Brockman (third team) received CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America honors.

The Big 12 Conference also has selected Baylor student-athletes Phil Tran (football) and Sarah Hausner (softball) to receive two of its 24 Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarships. The scholarships are named in honor of the late Dr. Prentice Gautt, a former Big 12 Conference staff member and student services' pioneer who passed away in March 2005.

The list of all-time recipients has grown to 153 since the inception of the league in 1996-97. Starting in 2002-03, additional funding increased scholarship award winners to two per member institution. To date the Big 12 has provided $845,600 for postgraduate education. The individual grants began at $2,500 in 1996-97, were raised to $5,000 in 1999 and climbed to $6,900 after the 2003-04 term.

Criteria for the awards includes a cumulative grade point average of 3.500 on a 4.000 scale, participation in at least two years of intercollegiate athletics at the nominee's respective institution and completion of athletics' eligibility. The student-athletes also must graduate from their respective member institutions within 15 months of their selection for a postgraduate scholarship and are expected to enroll in graduate/professional schools within two years of graduation. Three faculty representatives, one senior woman administrator and one director of athletics form the selection committee for the awards.

Online Store