Skip to main content Skip to footer
Baylor Finishes 35th In Learfield Directors' Cup

Director of Athletics Ian McCaw has overseen the six highest Directors' Cup finishes in school history.

July 1, 2011

Waco, Texas -- With a school-record 14 postseason entrants for the third consecutive year, Baylor registered a 35th-place finish in the final 2010-11 Learfield Sports Directors' Cup standings released today by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA). Baylor totaled 623.75 points to record its fifth top 35 all-sports sweepstakes finish in the award's 18-year history, all of which have come since 2004-05, and place sixth among Big 12 institutions.

"This was another great year across all sports both academically and athletically for Baylor Athletics," said Baylor Director of Athletics Ian McCaw, who has overseen the six highest Directors' Cup finishes in school history. "Our coaches, staff and student-athletes continue to perform at a very high level in the Big 12 and nationally."

In the Big 12, Baylor ranked sixth in the final Directors' Cup standings behind Texas A&M (No. 8), Oklahoma (No. 10), Texas (No. 12), Oklahoma State (No. 32) and Nebraska (No. 33). BU finished ahead of Big 12 rivals Missouri (No. 41), Texas Tech (No. 48), Kansas State (No. 58), Iowa State (No. 60), Colorado (No. 66) and Kansas (No. 72). Stanford won the Directors' Cup for the 17th consecutive year, followed by Ohio State, California, Florida, Duke, North Carolina, Virginia, Texas A&M, Florida State and Oklahoma to round out the top 10.

Among the Lone Star state's nine Football Bowl Subdivison (FBS) programs, Baylor ranked behind only Texas A&M and Texas, while it stood fifth among all private FBS institutions after Stanford, Duke, Southern Cal and Notre Dame.

Over the last seven years, Baylor has recorded seven of its nine highest finishes in the Cup's 18-year history. Baylor placed a program-best 25th in the 2004-05 standings, was 31st in 2009-10, 32nd in 2005-06, 33rd in 2008-09, 35th in 2010-11, 38th in 2006-07 and 42nd in 2007-08. Prior to the 2004-05 academic year, Baylor's best Directors' Cup finishes were 39th in 1998-99 and 40th in 2001-02.

In the classroom, Baylor student-athletes continued to perform at high level in 2010-11, too. A school-record 578 student-athletes were named to the Big 12's 2010-11 Commissioner's Honor Rolls, while a Baylor-record 115 student-athletes earned Academic All-Big 12 honors. In addition, Baylor had three Capital One Academic All-Americans, one NCAA Elite 88 Award winner and 24 Capital One Academic All-District selections.

The cumulative grade-point average of all Baylor student-athletes for the spring 2011 semester was a 3.12, a school-record for any term and the sixth consecutive semester their cumulative GPA topped the 3.0 mark.

Of Baylor's 623.75, 2010-11 Directors' Cup points, 400.50 came from the recently completed spring sports season which saw seven of its eight teams reach the NCAA's postseason in their respective sport. All-told, Baylor produced a school-record 14 postseason squads for the third straight year in 2010-11, five Big 12 Conference championship teams (three regular season and two tournament crowns) and every team registered a winning record in the same season for the first time.

Baylor's 2010-11 Big 12 championship teams included women's basketball and women's tennis, both of which swept the league's regular season and tournament titles, as well as the men's tennis team, which captured the regular season conference title. Over the last eight years (2003-04 through 2010-11), Baylor has won a combined 33 Big 12 regular-season and tournament championships in six different sports, which ranks third behind Texas and Texas A&M in that span.

BU's 14 postseason teams this past year included: football (earned school's first bowl bid since 1994 with Texas Bowl appearance), softball (national semifinalist, Women's College World Series), women's tennis (seventh straight NCAA Tournament appearance resulted in program's second-ever Final Four trip), women's basketball (NCAA Elite Eight; eighth straight NCAA Tournament bid and 10th in past 11 years), men's tennis (14th consecutive NCAA bid; eighth consecutive Elite Eight appearance), baseball (12th NCAA Tournament appearance in last 16 seasons), men's golf (14th consecutive NCAA Regional appearance), women's indoor track & field (10th at NCAA Championships), men's indoor track & field (T-16th at NCAA Championships), men's outdoor track & field (32nd at NCAA Championships), women's outdoor track & field (38th at NCAA Championships), equestrian (a program-best third-place hunter seat finish at Varsity Equestrian National Championships), acrobatics and tumbling (in program's first season, NCATA national semifinalist) and women's cross country (individual NCAA national qualifiers in Cate Westenhover and Robyn Bennett).

The Learfield Sports Directors' Cup was developed as a joint effort between NACDA and USA Today. Points are awarded based on each institution's finish in up to 20 sports - 10 women's and 10 men's. Learfield Sports, completing its third year as Directors' Cup sponsors, currently manages the multimedia and sponsorship rights for more than 50 collegiate institutions, conferences, associations and venues. Learfield Sports ( is an operating unit of Jefferson City, Mo.-based Learfield Communications, Inc., which made its initial foray into the world of sports marketing in 1975 as the radio rights holder for the University of Missouri, a client still today.

Baylor's All-Time Directors' Cup Finishes


Online Store