Skip to main content Skip to footer
Jerry Mallett Named To SWC Hall of Fame

Jerry Mallett

Aug 22, 2013

WACO, Texas - Former Baylor All-American Jerry Mallett was named a member of The Texas Sports Hall of Fame's newly reinitiated Southwest Conference Hall of Fame on Thursday.

Mallett was one of nine former athletes to be included in the 2013 Hall of Fame class that recognizes past greats in all sports from the Southwest Conference.

For Baylor's basketball team, Mallett was a two-time All-Southwest Conference first-team selection in 1955 and 1957. He holds the Baylor record for most rebounds in a single game with 27. Mallett ranks 22nd in career scoring with 1,053 points and is second in career rebounds with 877. He was a member of Baylor's All-Centennial basketball team, selected in 2006. Despite being picked in the fourth round of the 1957 NBA Draft, Mallett chose to pursue a baseball career.

On the diamond at Baylor, Mallett was a 1957 first-team All-American, while playing center field. He earned All-Southwest Conference honors in 1955 and 1957. Mallett went on to play professionally for the Boston Red Sox, making it to the Major League level in 1959. That season he played in four games, while hitting .267. Mallett still holds the school record for best batting average by a senior, after batting .429 in 1957.

He was also a 1972 Baylor Athletic Hall of Fame inductee.

The other eight members of the 2013 class include Jay Arnette (Texas), Bob Brock (Texas A&M), Frank Broyles (Arkansas), Rick Bullock (Texas Tech), Trevor Cobb (Rice), Gene Phillips (SMU), Tom Tellez (Houston) and Frank Windegger (TCU).

There will be an induction ceremony and luncheon recognizing the first class to be inducted since 1995 on Oct. 28, at 11:30 a.m. in Dallas at the Doubletree Hotel, Campbell Center.

The Southwest Conference Hall of Fame will now be one of four separate halls of fame housed within the confines of the Texas Sports Hall of Fame's physical structure. They include the Texas High School Football Hall of Fame, the Texas Tennis Hall of Fame, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame and now, the Southwest Conference Hall of Fame.

Online Store