The 'B' Line . . . September 24, 2003

Sept. 24, 2003

This is another "B" Line column, a collection of news items of particular interest to members of the Baylor "B" Association. Contribute news about you or your teammates via e-mail to Lee Harrington (, Dutch Schroeder (, Reba Cooper ( or Jack Loftis ( The mailing address is Baylor "B" Association, P. O. Box 8120, Waco, TX 76714.

The recent announcement that the Baylor-Colorado game will be telecast by Fox Sports on Oct. 4 and that the contest will begin at 11:30 a.m. has caused a quick reshuffling of plans by Baylor "B" Association President Ronnie Goodwin.

The organization's annual meeting, originally scheduled for 10:30 a.m. on Oct. 4, will now be held in the "B" Room at Floyd Casey Stadium immediately after the game ends.

Goodwin said that he learned of the time change on Tuesday and knew immediately that a rescheduling of the annual meeting would be necessary. "I don't think it will hurt attendance at the meeting and I promise to get through all of our business as quickly as possible," Goodwin said by phone from his home in San Angelo.

Another change will involve the traditional pre-game meal in the "B" Room. It will be served beginning at 10 a.m. Sponsors of the brunch will be Bill and Carol Rogers of Dallas.

One of the more important items on the meeting agenda will be the election of officers and directors for 2004. The nominees include David Lacy, president; Jim Sartain, vice-president; Gary Luft, treasurer; and Faith Beaty, president-elect. Directors seeking three-year terms are Alfred Anderson, Todd Harbour, Kristin Hill, Maggie Stinnett and Seth Witcher Jr.

Also, attendees will be informed of the board's recommendation that the honorary title of Executive Director Emeritus be given to Bunk Bradley, who led the letter-winners organization for a number of years.

Dutch Schroeder, another longtime "B" Association volunteer and officer, was bestowed the title of Executive Vice President Emeritus in 2002.

Membership cards . . .
In explaining who is eligible to vote on association matters, Goodwin stated in a September 10 letter that only active members may participate and he urges all to bring their gold membership cards to the meeting.

"Whether you are on the inactive (non-dues paying) membership roll or active (dues paid) member, we urge you to be at this meeting to learn how the business of your organization is conducted," Goodwin said.

"If you are an inactive member we take this opportunity to invite you to become active by sending your dues (to the Baylor "B" Association, P. O. Box 8120, Waco, Texas 76714)."

Annual dues are $75 for Texas residents under the age of 70 and $35 for Texans over 70. Dues for out-of-state members are $35.

Goodwin said that in addition to the business session those in attendance will have an opportunity to meet Ian McCaw, Baylor's new athletic director. David Brooks, who served as acting AD following the resignation of Tom Stanton, will introduce the newcomer from the University of Massachusetts.

THE NAME GAME - Baylor softball will hold an alumni game at Getterman Stadium at 4 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 27. The event coincides with "Meet the Players Day" - an occasion for fans to visit with former letter winners and current members of Coach Glenn Moore's Lady Bears team . . . As reported earlier, Roger Goree, the Coordinator of Support Services for BU athletics and a 1972 All-American defensive end for the Bears (the native of Baton Rouge, La., lettered in 1970-71-72) will be the featured player on the BaylorVision screen on Oct. 4. Goree, easily recognized around Baylor with his handlebar mustache and big hat, was coach Grant Teaff's first All-American player. Goree, who played at only 202 pounds, was a consensus All-Southwest Conference player in 1972 and recipient of the Fort Worth Kiwanis Club's SWC sportsmanship award . . . Incidentally, the "B" Line failed to mention that James Ray Smith, who was honored at the UAB game, is a former chairman of the Cotton Bowl Association in Dallas . . .

(The "B" Line column is written by Jack Loftis, editor emeritus of The Houston Chronicle and chairman of the Baylor "B" Association Communications Committee.)

Online Store