TF Cruises Through Day Two at NB Invite

Feb. 5, 2011

Meet Results

– Baylor’s track and field team completed a solid weekend at the New Balance Collegiate Invitational on Saturday at the Armory Track and Field Center in New York, N.Y.

“Overall, we had two good, hard days of competition on both sides,” head coach Todd Harbour said. “We had some outstanding performances from Tiffany Townsend with a school record in the 60, and Gavyn Nero almost breaking the school record in the 1,000. As a team, we are almost to where we want to be heading into the final month of the season.”

Baylor’s women placed sixth as a team with 40 points, while the BU men placed 10th overall with 25 points. The LSU men and the BYU women took home the top team honors on the weekend.

On the track, Baylor’s sprinters had the top finishes for the team, led by the women’s 4x200-meter relay team that placed second. Justine Charbonnet, Brittany Carr, Idia Omogiate and Katy Cranfill combined for a time of 1:39.47 for the runner-up finish.

On the men’s side, All-American Whitney Prevost improved his fourth-ranked preliminary 200-meter time to finish in third place in the finals, clocking 21.35 seconds. Sophomore Woodrow Randall placed 12th in the event with a time of 21.86. In the 400 meters for the men, sophomore Joe Barb placed eighth in the championship section with a time of 49.30.

Freshman Robyn Bennett took more than 17 seconds off her previous personal best in the 3,000 meters to place sixth in the meet with a time of 9:30.80. Junior transfer Brittany OgunMokun also set a new personal best in the 800 meters with a time of 2:10. 03 to place 10th in the championship section.

The Baylor men’s 4x400-meter relay team battled for the title, finishing third with a time of 3:09.67, just seven-tenths behind the winner. Whitney Prevost took the baton out in a time of 47.8, followed by a 47.1 leg from Zwede Hewitt. James Gilreath ran third with a time of 47.3 and Drew Seale anchored in a timeof 47.1.

On the women’s side, the 4x400-meter relay team of Tiffany Townsend, Brittany Bruce, OgunMokun and Diamond Richardson placed sixth overall in the championship section with a time of 3:40.50.

Also in the relays, the Baylor men’s team of Phil Raaf, Logan Roberts, Zac Flowers and Gavyn Nero combined to place sixth in the 4x800-meter relay with a time of 7:35.75.

The Baylor track and field team will be on the track next at the Texas A&M Challenge on Saturday, Feb. 12 at the Gilliam Indoor Track Stadium in College Station, Texas

Men’s 200 Meters (Championship Section)

4. Whitney Prevost (SR), 21.35
12. Woodrow Randall (JR), 21.86
3. Whitney Prevost (SR), 21.37

Men’s 400 Meters (Championship Section)
8. Joe Barb (SO), 49.30

Women’s 800 Meters (Championship Section)
10. Brittany OgunMokun (JR), 2:10.03

Men’s 800 Meters (Championship Section)
15. James Gilreath (JR), 1:58.54

Men’s Mile (College Section)
41. Ben Allen (SO), 4:25.26

Women’s 3,000 Meters
College Section

12. Kristen Hanselka (JR), 10:02.47
Championship Section
6. Robyn Bennett (FR), 9:30.80

Men’s 5,000 Meters (College Section)
6. Brad Miles (FR), 14:46.67

Women’s 4x200-Meter Relay (Championship Section)
2. Justine Charbonnet, Brittany Carr, Idia Omogiate, Katy Cranfill – 1:39.47

Women’s 4x400-Meter Relay (Championship Section)
6. Brittany Bruce, Tiffany Townsend, Brittany OgunMokun, Diamond Richardon – 3:40.50

Men’s 4x400-Meter Relay (Championship Section)
3. Whitney Prevost, Zwede Hewitt, James Gilreath, Drew Seale – 3:09.67

Men’s 4x800-Meter Relay (Championship Section)
6. Phil Raaf, Logan Roberts, Gavyn Nero, Zac Flowers – 7:35.75

Women’s Triple Jump (Championship Section)
5. Jessica Ubanyionwu (JR), 42-1.5



Online Store