Skip to main content Skip to footer
Bears Win Three Event Titles at Big 12 Indoor Championship
Feb. 24, 2018

Complete Results | Full Baylor Results

AMES, Iowa - The Baylor track & field team saw 26 Bears earn all-conference honors to close out the Big 12 Indoor Championship Saturday at Lied Recreation Center in Ames, Iowa.

The Baylor women started out the day with two All-Big 12 performers in the 60 meters. Freshman Sydney Washington (7.54) and junior Raven Grant (7.56) earned their first top-eight finishes at the conference meet, going sixth and eighth in the finals.

Freshman Morgan Stewart claimed BU's fifth Big 12 title in the 600 yards as she ran the seventh-fastest time in school history with 1:20.45. Kiana Hawn also earned all-conference honors with a seventh-place finish in 1:24.41.

In the 400 meters, Kiana Horton won's the program's first Big 12 title since 1999 as she raced 52.60 to earn her first individual event crown. Her time is the third-fastest recorded indoor mark in school history. Horton was joined on the awards stand by Victoria Powell who earned fifth in 53.68 for all-conference honors.

Alison Andrews-Paul earned her third indoor all-conference accolade as she finished seventh in the 1,000 meters with a personal-best time of 2:48.72.

Coming back strong after posting 2:13.03 in the prelims, Aaliyah Miller ran the sixth-fastest 800-meter time in program history as she finished 2:04.58 for her first career Big 12 title. Miller is the third Bear to win the 800-meter crown and second in three years (2016 - Olicia Williams).

In the triple jump, Alex Madlock jumped the leaderboard on her final attempt. In eighth place, the freshman leaped 41-10.75 (12.77m) to earn fourth and her first career All-Big 12 honor.

In the 200 meters, Horton once again placed as she finished fourth with a time of 23.87. Following her performance was Anna West in the 3,000 meters as she earned her second All-Big 12 honor in two days with a seventh-place finish in 9:33.67.

In the final event of the meet, the 4x400-meter relay squad of Victoria Powell, Kiana Hawn, Aaliyah Miller and Kiana Horton ended with a second-place finish with a time of 3:36.33.

The BU women finished with 70.5 points for seventh place at the meet.

The Baylor men's team kicked off the second day with Luke Littlefield in the heptathlon. In his final three events, Littlefield earned his first career indoor honors with a fifth-place showing with 4,960 points. His point total is the eighth-most points in program history.

Maxwell Willis (6.70) and Malik Wilson (6.75) got the Bears rolling in the running events as they placed third and seventh in the 60 meters.

Then, Caleb Dickson earned his second consecutive top-eight finish in the 600 yards as he ran for 1:09.77 for another conference honor. Freshman Howard Fields III earned his first career All-Big 12 honor as he finished third in the 400 meters with a time of 46.49.

Danny Leland earned his first individual all-conference honor as he posted an 800-meter time of 1:51.64 to claim seventh.

The lone BU finalist in the 200 meters, Willis earned his second All-Big 12 finish of the day as he tied for fourth with 20.97. It was the second-straight year he placed in the event.

In the triple jump, Jalen Seals earned his second top-eight finish in two days as he leaped a personal best 51-10.5 (15.81m) to claim seventh in the event.

In the meet finale, the 4x400-meter relay quartet of Jayson Baldridge, Howard Fields III, Caleb Dickson and Wil London finished runner-up with a time of 3:08.20.

The men finished with 50.5 points for eighth place at the meet.

ALL-BIG 12 PERFORMERS (26 competitors, 36 honors)
Women (11 competitors, 17 honors)
Alison Andrews-Paul (1,000m), Raven Grant (60m), Kiana Hawn (600 yards, 4x400m relay), Kiana Horton (200m, 400m, 4x400m relay), Alex Madlock (triple jump), Aaliyah Miller (800m, 4x400m relay), Victoria Powell (400m, 4x400m relay), Morgan Stewart (600 yards), Tuesdi Tidwell (pole vault), Sydney Washington (60m), Anna West (3,000m, 5,000m)

Men (15 competitors, 19 honors)
Jayson Baldridge (4x400m relay), Caleb Dickson (600 yards, 4x400m relay), Howard Fields III (400m, 4x400m relay), Danny Leland (800m), Luke Littlefield (heptathlon), Wil London (4x400m relay), Jeremy Meadows (DMR), Devin Meyrer (5K), Antwuan Musgrove (DMR), Riley B. Richards (pole vault), J.B. Sandlund (DMR), Jalen Seals (long jump, triple jump), TJ Sugg (DMR), Maxwell Willis (60m, 200m), Malik Wilson (60m)

BIG 12 CHAMPIONS (3 competitors, 3 events)
Kiana Horton (400m), Aaliyah Miller (800m), Morgan Stewart (600 yards)

 The Bears earned All-Big 12 awards on both the men's and women's sides in two field events (men's and women's pole vault, men's and women's triple jump) and seven running events (60 meters, 200 meters, 400m, 800m, 600 yards, 5,000 meters, 4x400m relay).
• Kiana Horton was the first Bear to win the women's 400 meters since 1999.
 Freshmen Jayson Baldridge, Sydney Washington, Alex Madlock, Morgan Stewart and Howard Fields III and junior Raven Grant earned their first career All-Big 12 honors on Saturday.
• Aaliyah Miller ran the sixth-fastest 800-meter time in school history to win the title.
• Luke Littlefield scored the eighth-most heptathlon points in school history.
• Kiana Horton led the women's team with three All-Big 12 honors while Caleb DicksonHoward Fields III, Jalen Seals and Maxwell Willis led the men's team with two honors each.

The Bears await possible entries to the NCAA Indoor Championships, running Feb. 9-10 in College Station, Texas.

Follow the team all season long on their official social media accounts: @BaylorTrack.



Online Store