Skip to main content Skip to footer
TF DMR Breaks Record at Notre Dame

March 5, 2010

Arkansas Final Qualifier Results

Alex Wilson Invite Results

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Baylor’s distance medley relay teams each improved their times on the season, while men broke the school record at the Alex Wilson Invitational on the campus of the University of Notre Dame. The Bears also had three sprinters compete at the Arkansas Final Qualifier.

At Notre Dame, four all-Big 12 athletes, including Gavyn Nero, Michael Liggins, James Gilreath, and Chris Gowell, combined to break the BU record for the second time this season. The DMR crew posted a provisional qualifying time of 9:34.90 to place ninth. The time breaks the school record set one month ago by more than three seconds, and will rank Baylor in the top 15 in the NCAA.

On the women’s side, the DMR team shaved five seconds off their season-best time with a fourth-place finish in a time of 11:13.25. Stephanie Morgan, Diamond Richardson, Kathryn Benvegnu, and Erin Bedell pushed the baton around the track for the fourth-fastest time in school history. The time will also rank the Lady Bears in the top 15 in the nation.

Meanwhile, three Baylor sprinters looked to improve their times at the Arkansas Final Qualifier. Trey Harts and Whitney Prevost each competed in the 200 meters, while Marcus Boyd took aim at the 400 meters. Harts shaved .03 off of his season best on his way to a victory in the 200 with a time of 20.97. Prevost posted a fifth-place time of 21.17 in the 200, and Marcus Boyd posted a second-place time of 47.00 in the 400.

In individual action at Notre Dame, Robbie Knorr placed 20th in the men’s 5,000 meters with a time of 14:35.57.

The Bears will continue action at the Alex Wilson Invitational on Saturday at Notre Dame. Saturday's events kick off at 11:00 a.m. with the men's triple jump and women's shot put and women's 60-meter hurdles.



Online Store