Skip to main content Skip to footer
Track Opens Outdoor With Six Wins at TCU

March 18, 2011

Complete Results

FORT WORTH, Texas - In the first outdoor meet of the 2011 season, Baylor's track and field team combined to win six events, including two by thrower Skylar White on Friday at the TCU Invitational in Fort Worth, Texas.

"It was overall a good day, we had a really good effort by the crew we brought to the meet," head coach Todd Harbour said. "Anytime you can open up outdoors with some personal bests, it a successful day. It was a little windy, but overall the weather was great and TCU did a great job running meet."

White kicked off her outdoor campaign on top of her game in the discus and shot put, out-throwing the competition in both events. The sophomore took the shot put with a toss of 52 feet, 10.25 inches, and went on to win the discus by 12 feet with her throw of 164-7.

Along with White, two more of Baylor's wins on the day came in the field events, with Dess Meek taking the women's high jump title and Joe Farley winning the men's pole vault. Meek cleared a bar of 5-8.75 for the high-jump win, while Farley vaulted over 16-2.75 to each start the outdoor season on a good note. Nick Lyons added a second-place finish for the men in the field events, throwing the javelin 216-3 to open the season.

Sophomore Christina Holland and senior Leigh Ann Ganzar earned wins on the track for Baylor, taking titles in the 400-meter hurdles and 800 meters. After battling injury a large portion of the indoor season, Holland was able to take the win with a time of 1:00.31, nearly two seconds faster than runner-up and teammate Michelle Nwachukwu's 1:02.09. Ganzar won the 800 meters by just .29 seconds with a time of 2:09.52, four seconds better than her previous personal best.

Baylor also had a large group of top-three finishes on the track by both newcomers and veterans. For the women, Samantha Patty earned a runner-up finish in the 3,000 meters with a two-second personal best of 10:05.78. In the 400 meters, Brittany OgunMokun turned in a time of 55.90 to place third, while Diamond Richardson posted a fourth-place 200-meter time of 23.52.

On the men's side, freshman Brad Miles had a solid day in the 3,000 meters, placing second with a time of 8:56.30, while Gavyn Nero added a third-place finish in the 800 meters with a time of 1:51.16. In the men's 400 meters, James Gilreath placed third with a time of 47.62.

Gilreath also posted the fastest split on the men's second-place 4x400-meter relay team that produced a time of 3:09.21 that finished .02 seconds behind TCU for the win. Gilreath, however, turned a career-best split of 45.7 seconds on the second leg to put Baylor in position.

Baylor will be competing at two different meets next weekend, taking on completion at both Stanford and Arizona State. A crew of distance runners will travel to the Stanford Invite in Palo Alto, Calif., while the rest of the team will compete in Tempe, Ariz., at the ASU Invite. The meets are scheduled for March 25-26.

Women's 100 Meters
10. Brittany Carr (JR), 11.93
14. Idia Omogiate (SO), 12.10
15. Justine Charbonnet (FR), 12.17
16. Kehri Jones (FR), 12.22
22. Arryss Mills (FR), 12.73
23. Joy Hall (FR), 12.86

Men's 100 Meters
13. Marcus Thompson (SO), 10.79

Women's 200 Meters
4. Diamond Richardson (JR), 23.52
8. Brittany Bruce (SR), 23.80
22. Idia Omogiate (SO), 25.09
25. Katy Cranfill (FR), 25.58
28. Kehri Jones (FR), 25.79
30. Vanessa Samuel (SO), 25.87

Men's 200 Meters
16. Marcus Thompson (SO), 21.65
17. Dennis Scruggs (SO), 21.70

Women's 400 Meters
3. Brittany OgunMokun (SO), 55.90
5. Lizzy Whitney (SO), 57.22
10. Linh Tran (SO), 59.11
15. Symphony Bagsby (SO), 59.88

Men's 400 Meters
4. James Gilreath (JR), 47.62
7. Drew Seale (SO), 47.79
12. Joe Barb (SO), 48.69
18. Chad Rozean (FR), 49.90

Women's 800 Meters
1. Leigh Ann Ganzar (SR), 2:09.52

Men's 800 Meters
3. Gavyn Nero (SO), 1:51.16
5. Zac Flowers (JR), 1:54.05
8. Logan Roberts (SR), 1:57.82
10. Jesse Brooks (FR), 1:58.45

Women's 1,500 Meters
4. Robyn Bennett (FR), 4:39.82

Men's 1,500 Meters
11. Taylor Jackson (FR), 4:13.82

Women's 3,000 Meters
2. Samantha Patty (SR), 10:05.78
3. Katie Shaw (SR), 10:15.92
4. Kristen Hanselka (JR), 10:18.85
8. Leah Frazier (SO), 11:12.46
10. Mallory Ramsey (SO), 12:07.13

Men's 3,000 Meters
2. Brad Miles (FR), 8:56.30
3. Ben Allen (SO) 8:59.22
7. Blake Niccum (SO), 9:18.56

Women's 100-Meter Hurdles
7. Vanessa Samuel (SO), 15.21
9. Jessica Shadley (FR), 15.36

Men's 110-Meter Hurdles
11. Hunter Brook (FR), 15.98
12. Henry Vildosola (FR), 17.96

Women's 400-Meter Hurdles
1. Christina Holland (SO), 1:00.31
2. Michelle Nwachukwu (FR), 1:02.09

Men's 400-Meter Hurdles
3. Gabriel El Hanbli (FR), 50.83
5. Philip Raaf (JR), 54.11

Women's 4x100-Meter Relay
3. Justine Charbonnet (FR), Diamond Richardson (JR), Brittany Bruce (SR), Brittany Carr (JR) - 45.66

Women's 4x400-Meter Relay
2. Baylor `A' - OgunMokun, Bruce, Holland, Richardson - 3:38.27
5. Baylor `C' - Tran, Charbonnet, Omogiate, Bagsby - 3:50.04
6. Baylor `B' - Nwachukwu, Cranfill, Whitney, Carr - 3:51.54

Men's 4x400-Meter Relay
2. Baylor - Scruggs, Gilreath, Barb, El Hanbli - 3:09.21

Women's High Jump
1. Dess Meek (SR), 5-8.75/1.75m
11. Jennifer Gueldner (FR), 5-3/1.60m
12. Jessica Shadley (FR), 5-1/1.55m

Men's High Jump
3. Kyle Cash (JR), 6-4.75/1.95m
4. Hayden Loudenslager (FR), 6-4.75/1.95m
6. Hunter Brook (FR), 6-2.75/1.90m
-- Henry Vildosola (FR), NH

Women's Pole Vault
3. Jessica Shadley (FR), 10-8/3.40m
6. Hannah Peters (SO), 10-8/3.25m
7. Jennifer Gueldner (FR), 10-2/3.10m

Men's Pole Vault
1. Joe Farley (JR), 16-2.75/4.95m

Women's Long Jump
3. Jessica Gabler (SO), 18-7/5.66m
5. Justine Charbonnet (FR), 17-6.25/5.34m

Men's Long Jump
9. Hunter Brook (FR), 19-11/6.07m

Women's Shot Put
1. Skylar White (SO), 52-10.25/16.11m
11. Taylor Torres (FR), 36-6.25/11.13m
13. Allyson Anderson (FR), 34-1.5/10.40m

Women's Discus
1. Skylar White (SO), 164-7/50.18m
7. Taylor Torres (FR), 130-9/39.86m

Women's Javelin
3. Kalie Rover (SO), 94-5/28.77m
4. Jessica Shadley (FR), 90-8/27.64m

Men's Javelin
2. Nick Lyons (SR), 216-3/65.92m
4. Henry Vildosola (FR), 166-11/50.87m
5. Hunter Brook (FR), 147-2/44.85m



Online Store