Skip to main content Skip to footer
Track's Sprint Medley Relay Wins At Texas Relays

March 30, 2012

Complete Results

AUSTIN, Texas – Baylor’s sprint medley relay team on the men’s side erased a 10-meter deficit on the last lap to claim the Texas Relays’ title in the event on Friday at Mike A. Myers Stadium in Austin, Texas.

“There was great competition today at the Texas Relays, and we were having a tough day that turned around quickly with our sprint medley relay team,” head coach Todd Harbour said. “Those guys really went after it, and James (Gilreath) did a great job of closing to help them get the win. We are really proud of them. We’ve got a big day ahead of us with five more relays tomorrow and a bunch of individual events.”

In their second-to-last event of the day, the BU men’s team of Whitney Prevost, Justin Allen, Zwede Hewitt and James Gilreath conquered the field in the 200-200-400-800 sprint medley relay. Prevost and Allen opened with solid legs on the 200s, and Hewitt took the baton for a 45.3 carry on the 400-meter leg to keep the team in second, 10 meters behind leader USC. Gilreath hung in second for the first 600 meters, but hit the final stretch with a big kick to outduel the Trojans for the victory in a time of 3:17.47.

In qualifying action, men’s speedsters Everett Walker and Woodrow Randall turned in impressive times in the 100 meters. Walker was the second-fastest qualifier with a time of 10.22, while Randall won his heat and was the third-fastest qualifier at 10.29. Each time was a season-best for Walker and Randall.

On the women’s side, sophomore hurdler Tiffani McReynolds finished second in her heat and fifth overall in the 100 hurdles to qualify for Saturday’s final with a time of 13.29.

Also in qualifying, Baylor’s 4x400-meter relay team turned in a time of 3:37.53 to earn the ninth-and-final qualifying spot with the crew of Diamond Richardson, Alyssa Nichols, Idia Omogiate and Raena Rhone.

The women’s 4x100-meter relay was just on the other side of the qualifying, finishing 10th with a time of 45.56 from Justine Charbonnet, Nichols, Richardson and McReynolds. The men had similar fate, holding the lead heading into the final leg, but were disqualified after a mishandled exchange.

In other relay action, Baylor’s 4x1,500-meter relay team of Jonathan Tijerina, Ben Allen, Taylor Jackson and Jesse Brooks finished sixth overall with a time of 16:24.80. The women’s sprint medley relay team of Omogiate, Charbonnet, Michelle Nwachukwu and Lizzy Whitney finished 10th overall at 4:00.03.

Baylor will be back in action on the final day of the 85th annual Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays on Saturday. Action is set to begin at 12:15 p.m. at Mike A. Myers Stadium.

q = qualified for finals
100 Meters - Prelims

18. Tiffani McReynolds (SO) – 11.62
57. Justine Charbonnet (SO) – 12.11
85. Brittany Carr (SR) – 12.59
2. Everett Walker (JR) – 10.22q (Ranks Top 5 in NCAA)
3. Woodrow Randall (SR) – 10.29 (Ranks Top 10 in NCAA)

100 Hurdles - Prelims

5. Tiffani McReynolds (SO) – 13.29q
32. Christina Holland (JR) – 14.03 (Career best)

4x100-meter Relay - Prelims

10. Baylor (Charbonnet, Nichols, Richardson, McReynolds) – 45.56 (Season best)
-- Baylor (Randall, Prevost, Walker, Everett) – DQ

4x400-meter Relay – Prelims

9. Baylor (Richardson, Nichols, Omogiate, Rhone) – 3:37.53q

Sprint Medley Relay

10. Baylor (Omogiate, Charbonnet, Nwachukwu, Whitney) – 4:00.03
1. Baylor (Prevost, Allen, Hewitt, Gilreath) – 3:17.47

4x1,500-meter Relay

6. Baylor (Tijerina, Allen, Jackson, Brooks) – 16:24.80

High Jump
Women – Section B

-- Lauren Cook (FR) – NH

Triple Jump
Women – Section A

13. Jessica Ubanyionwu (SR) – 40-1.25 [12.22m]

Women – Section A

5. Skylar White (JR) – 168-2 [51.27m]



Online Store