Go Bears!
GO Bears!
Go Bears!
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Track and Field Opens the Indoor Season at the Arkansas Invitational

Head coach Todd Harbour and the Baylor track and field teams open the indoor season on Friday at the Arkansas Invitational.

Head coach Todd Harbour and the Baylor track and field teams open the indoor season on Friday at the Arkansas Invitational.

Jan. 9, 2008

WACO, Texas -

Meet Notes in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader




The Baylor men's and women's indoor track and field teams will open the regular season this weekend as they travel to Fayetteville, Ark. to compete in the Arkansas Invitational. The one-day meet is scheduled for January 11 at the Randal Tyson Track Center at the University of Arkansas. Field events are scheduled to begin at 12 noon, with running events scheduled to start at 1 p.m. Following competition at the Arkansas Invitational, the Bears will make a return trip to Fayetteville, the second of their five trips to Arkansas during the indoor season, with the Arkansas Open on January 25-26. Live results of the Arkansas Invitational will be available online at www.HogWired.com.




The Baylor men's 4x400-meter relay recorded an NCAA Automatic Qualifying time to lead the Bears at the 2007 Arkansas Invitational. Baylor secured eight event victories and broke two school records on the day. The 4x400-meter relay team, who would go on to win the NCAA Indoor Championships, ran 3:05.82 to win the race by more than six seconds over second-place Texas A&M. Reggie Witherspoon won the 200 meters in 20.85, while Kevin Mutai won the 400 meters with a time of 47.04. The Lady Bears registered five event victories as Erin Bedell (mile), Nichole Jones (800 meters), Renae Van Wyhe (3,000 meters), Carla Grace (200 meters) and the women's distance medley relay all took first place. In addition, Chris Cardwell set a new school record in the 35-lb weight throw at 16.73m (54-10 3/4) and Katie Stoever set a Baylor record with a clearance of 3.55m (11-07 3/4) in the pole vault.




The Baylor men's 4x400 meter relay team clocked the fastest time in the world in 2007 to claim its seventh indoor national championship in the mile relay at the 2007 NCAA Indoor Championships at the Randal Tyson Track Center. Baylor's 4x400 meter relay team has now earned All-America honors for the 28th straight year. The Bears claimed their 15th overall mile relay national championship, and finished in the top-three for the 22nd time. The Baylor men's team finished the meet in a tie for tenth place with 21 points, marking the second straight top-ten finish for the team. Baylor earned an eighth-place finish (21 points) at the 2006 championships. The Lady Bears tied for 50th overall with four team points. For the meet, Baylor earned 12 All-America honors and one national champion. All nine Baylor athletes that competed in the meet earned at least one All-American citation, with Reggie Witherspoon, LeJerald Betters and Quentin Iglehart-Summers each receiving two All-America records. Iglehart-Summers won his finals heat, and finished third overall, in the 400 meters with a personal-best time of 46.07, earning another All-America citation. The time is the sixth-fastest in the nation this season, and is the fastest for the Bears this season on a 200 meter track. Combined with Betters' All-American performance in the preliminaries, Baylor earned two indoor All-American citations in the open 400 meters for the first time since 2004 when Jeremy Wariner and Darold Williamson took first and fourth, respectively.



   Shop Now at the Official Online Store