Skip to main content Skip to footer
Track and Field Travels to Arkansas Open.

Jan. 24, 2008

WACO, Texas -

Meet Notes in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

BAYLOR BACK IN ACTION AT ARKANSAS OPEN The Baylor men's and women's indoor track and field teams return to action this weekend as they travel to Fayetteville, Ark. to compete in the Arkansas Open. The two-day meet is scheduled for January 25-26 at the Randal Tyson Track Center at the University of Arkansas. Friday multi events begin at 12 noon, with field events starting at 3 p.m. and running events beginning at 6:10 p.m. On Saturday, action starts at 11 a.m. with Day Two of the multi events. Running events begin at 12 noon on Saturday, with field events scheduled to begin at 1 p.m. Following competition at the Arkansas Invitational, the Bears will travel to Lincoln, Neb. for the Husker Invitational on Feb. 1-2. A select group of student-athletes will travel to Seattle, Wash. for the UW Invitational. Live results of the Arkansas Open will be available online at

LAST YEAR AT THE ARKANSAS OPEN Last season, Baylor did not compete at the Arkansas Invitational, but instead travelled to Seattle, Wash. for the University of Washington Indoor Invitational. The Bears recorded eight total provisional marks, four each for the men's and women's team. The women's distance medley relay won by nearly 14 seconds to set a provisional qualifying time. Lyndsy Bedell set a provisional mark in the 5,000 meters, while Erin Bedell and Nichole Jones provisionally qualified in the 3,000 meters. The men's 4x400-meter relay won in convincing fashion for the third straight week, while LeJerald Betters, J.T. Scheuerman and Reggie Witherspoon each recorded provisional qualifying times in the 400 meters. The Lady Bears had seven sectional winners, while the Baylor women's 4x400-meter relay also took first place. The men's team had five additional section winners in its third consecutive week of competition.

LAST TIME OUT The Baylor men's and women's track and field teams claimed seven event victories at the Arkansas Invitational. The Bears took the top two spots in the 400 meters and the Lady Bears finished first and second in the 800 meters in the opening meet of the indoor season. Courtney Thomas started the Bears off with a victory in the 200 meters with a time of 21.65. Quentin Iglehart-Summers led the Bears to a 1-2 finish in the 400 meters with a provisional qualifying time of 47.02. Justin Boyd clocked 47.47 for second place, while Marcus Boyd ran 48.09 to finish sixth. Lazlo Vandracsek finished 13th with a time of 49.36. Trey Harts won the men's 200 meter championship final with an NCAA provisional time of 21.21. Danielle Bradley won the women's championship mile with a time of 4:51.79. After battling for the lead through the first 800 meters, Bradley started her kick and cruised to a six-second win. Lauren Hagans won the women's 800 meter championship final, barely edging Nichole Jones on the final straightaway. Hagans recorded a provisional qualifying time of 2:08.69 while Jones clocked 2:09.03 to miss a provisional time by three one-hundredths of a second. Leigh Ann Ganzar finished in fifth place with a time of 2:11.45. Jones came back 35 minutes later to win the women's 3,000 meter championship final in a time of 9:45.22. The sophomore battled for the lead for the majority of the race, and started her kick at the bell-lap. Jones quickly pulled away from the competition, winning the race by four seconds. The men's 4x400-meter relay won with a provisional qualifying time of 3:09.70. The 4x400-meter relay win is the 14th-straight event final win for the Bears against collegiate competition. Baylor has won 16 of its last 17 races against NCAA teams. The race is also the seventh straight indoor that Baylor recorded at least an NCAA provisional time.



Online Store