Go Bears!
GO Bears!
Go Bears!
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Track and Field Set for Big 12 Indoor

Tiffany Townsend ranks No. 1 in the Big 12 in the women's 200 meters

Tiffany Townsend ranks No. 1 in the Big 12 in the women's 200 meters

Feb. 25, 2009

WACO, Texas -

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The Baylor men's and women's track and field teams are set to travel to College Station, Texas for the 2009 Big 12 Indoor Track and Field Championships on Friday and Saturday, February 27-28 at Gilliam Indoor Track Stadium at the McFerrin Athletic Center. The Bears are making their second of three straight trips to College Station, as the Bears will return to the campus of Texas A&M for the NCAA Indoor Championships on March 13-14. The Bears will also be competing in their third-straight scored meet. The men's squad won the team title at the New Balance Collegiate Invitational, while the women's squad took second overall during the first week in February, while both squads took third place at the Texas A&M Invitational. Live results for the Big 12 Indoor Track and Field Championships can be found at www.AggieAthletics.com or www.FlashResults.com. Live streaming video will be available at www.Big12Sports.com. Meet recaps can be found at the end of each day at www.BaylorBears.com.

The Baylor track and field teams won five Big 12 titles at the 2008 Big 12 Indoor Track & Field Championships in Lincoln, Neb. In all, Baylor athletes earned 30 All-Big 12 honors. The Baylor men finished in ninth place overall with 38 points, while the women's team took sixth place overall with 68.25 points. The Texas men and Texas A&M women each won team titles. The Baylor men's 4x400-meter relay won with a time of 3:06.96, its second-fastest time of the season. The Bears were without anchor Quentin Iglehart-Summers who missed the meet with an injury. The Bears won their 11th-straight Big 12 indoor title in the 4x400-meter relay, and the 25th overall conference championship. Trey Harts won gold in the men's 200 meters with a season-best time of 20.90. The time is a personal best for Harts on a 200-meter track. Baylor won its third-straight 200 meter conference title, with Reggie Witherspoon winning in 2006 and 2007. LeJerald Betters won his second-straight conference title in the men's 400 meters. Betters, who only competed in one meet prior to the conference championships, clocked 46.67 to win the quarter-mile. Betters also won the 2007 outdoor 400 meter title. Nichole Jones won the Big 12 title in the women's 1,000 meters for the second-straight year with a time of 2:46.57. Jones, who set a Baylor and Big 12 meet record in the 1,000 meters last season, now holds the two fastest times in the event in Baylor history. Jones also finished third overall in the women's 3,000 meters to earn All-Big 12 honors. Danielle Bradley earned two all-conference honors on Saturday, placing third in the women's mile with a personal best time of 4:43.27. Just 45 minutes later, Bradley finished second in the women's 1,000 meters with a personal best time of 2:47.80. Lauren Hagans took second in the women's mile with a time of 4:42.97. Earlier this season Hagans set a school record time of 4:41.67 in the mile, and has since recorded two times that would have been school records entering the 2008 season.

The Baylor men's 4x400-meter relay won its 33rd-straight race and the Bears set a new world-leading time on the second day of competition at the Texas A&M Invitational on Saturday afternoon at the Gilliam Indoor Track. Baylor set an NCAA- and world-leading time of 3:06.67 in the fifth and final heat to win the event by more than three full seconds over Texas A&M. The time lowers the previous world-leading time of 3:07.93 set by Georgia on Friday night at the Tyson Invitational. Danielle Bradley and Cate Westenhover each recorded NCAA provisional qualifying times in the women's mile. Bradley clocked a time of 4:42.36 to finished second, while Westenhover finished third in 4:46.66. Bradley's time lowers her personal best time, and ranks second in Baylor history, while Westenhover clocked the sixth-fastest time in school history. Trey Harts and Whitney Prevost finished second and third, respectively, in the men's 60 meters as both clocked NCAA provisional times. Marcus Boyd finished as the second collegian in the men's 400, clocking a personal-best time of 46.61, recording his first NCAA provisional time of the year. Quentin Iglehart-Summers also clocked a provisional time of 47.14 to finish sixth overall.



   Shop Now at the Official Online Store