Track to Host Michael Johnson Classic

April 17, 2009

WACO, Texas -

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The Baylor men's and women's track and field teams return home for their final home meet of the season as the Bears host the Michael Johnson Classic on Saturday, April 18, at the Hart-Patterson Track and Field Complex. Baylor will honor Darnell Chase, Derwin Graham, Johnny Thomas and Willie Caldwell, members of Baylor's 1985 NCAA Champion 4x400-meter relay squad that captured Baylor's first-ever NCAA title. In addition, the Bears will recognize its senior team members as a part of Senior Day festivities. Baylor is coming off a record-setting performance two weeks ago at the Texas Relays. The Bears combined for four Texas Relays titles, the most in school history and the most by any school at the meet this season, and claimed the men's and women's distance medley relay titles for the first time in Texas Relays history. Live results for the Michael Johnson Classic, as well as a complete meet recap, can be found online at

The Baylor men's and women's track and field teams combined for 30 NCAA Regional Qualifying marks at the Michael Johnson Classic on Saturday at the Hart-Patterson Track and Field Complex. The Bears also recorded 15 event victories on the day. The meet was highlighted with fast times as Baylor runners recorded seven times that rank in the top 10 nationally. In addition, Jeremy Wariner and Sanya Richards clocked world-leading times in the 400 meters. Baylor's 30 regional marks are believed to be the most ever for a single meet. Previously this season at the Dr Pepper Invitational, and on two occasions last season, the Bears were able to record 20-plus regional qualifying marks. Wariner won the men's invitational 400 meters with a world leading time of 44.56, while Richards clocked 50.47 in the women's invitational 400 meters to set the fastest time in the world this season. Trey Harts won the 100 meters and the 200 meters, but it was his performance in the 200 meters that drew the most attention. Harts got out of the blocks quickly and recorded a blistering time of 20.44, the second-fastest time in the NCAA this season. Both men's relays recorded top 10 collegiate times on Saturday. The men's 4x440-meter relay, who already owns the nation's fastest time this season, clocked 3:05.47 to win its 25th straight race. The time conversion to a 4x400-meter race makes the time 3:04.27, the third-fastest collegiate time this season. In Baylor's first action in the sprint relay, the Bears clocked 39.77 to record a regional qualifying mark with the ninth-fastest 4x100-meter relay time in the nation this season.

The Baylor men's and women's track and field teams won three relay titles on Saturday, bringing their weekend total to four relay championships at the 82nd Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays. The four relay titles are the most in Baylor history at one Texas Relays. Last season, Baylor won three relay titles (men's 4x200 and 4x400, women's sprint medley). Baylor won two relay titles at Texas Relays on three other occasions. In 2001, the men's team won the 4x400- and the 4x800-meter relays. In 1995, the Bears won the 4x200- and 4x400-meter relay, and captured the 4x200- and 4x800-meter relays in 1994. The men's 4x400-meter relay won its 38th-straight race against NCAA competition, clocking a world-leading time of 3:02.68. The Bears swept the distance medley relays as the men's squad won its first-ever title in the event, while the women won for the second time ever and the first since 2006. The women clocked a time of 11:24.10, the fifth-fastest time in Baylor history. The men's squad recorded a time of 9:49.31, a season-best time.The women's 4x400-meter relay clocked a season-best time of 3:33.59 to finish fourth overall. Tiffany Townsend finished second in the women's 100 meters in a photo finish. Texas A&M's Gabby Mayo out-leaned Townsend to win by seven-thousandths of a second. Townsend's time of 11.13 breaks her own school record of 11.24 set in Friday's preliminary heats. Trey Harts, who recorded the fastest preliminary time on Friday, finished third overall with a season-best time of 10.35. The men's 4x100-meter relay finished fourth in the event finals with a season-best time of 39.25, the seventh-fastest time in Baylor history. The time is the fastest for Baylor since the 1990 squad set the school record of 38.98 at the NCAA meet. The Lady Bears finished fifth in the 4x100-meter relay with a time of 44.46, just off their season-best time of 44.41 set in Friday's preliminary heats. Baylor finished second overall in the men's 4x200-meter relay with a time of 1:22.98.



Online Store