Track and Field Heads to Big 12 Championships

May 14, 2008

WACO, Texas -

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader



The Baylor men's and women's track and field teams are set to travel to the 2008 Big 12 Outdoor Track & Field Championships on Friday, May 16 through Sunday, May 18 at Potts Field in Boulder, Colo. The meet will mark the first Big 12 Conference championship hosted by Colorado. Following competition at the 2008 Big 12 Outdoor Track & Field Championships, the Bears will travel to Lincoln, Neb. for the 2008 NCAA Midwest Regional meet on May 30-31. Live results can be found at Colorado's official athletics website Complete meet recaps will be available each evening at



Reggie Witherspoon was named High Point Performer and Nichole Jones set a new Baylor record in the women's 800 meters on the final day at the 2007 Big 12 Outdoor Championships at Ed Weir Stadium on Sunday. Witherspoon won the 200 meters, took second in the 400 meters, and helped Baylor to a victory in the men's 4x100-meter relay to earn High Point Performer honors. He also won the award earlier this season at the Big 12 Indoor Championships in Ames, Iowa. Witherspoon, a senior transfer from Florida, has earned High Point Performer honors in three of his four Big 12 Conference Championships. Jones won the women's 800 meter title in a school-record time of 2:05.89, winning the race by more than two seconds. Jones, who graduated a year early from high school, became the youngest Big 12 Outdoor Champion in conference history (18 years, 44 days). By winning the 1,000 meters at the 2007 Big 12 Indoor Championships, Jones became the youngest ever Big 12 Champion (17 years, 332 days). The Baylor men finished in seventh place overall with 67 team points, while the Lady Bears took 11th overall with 32 team points. The men tied their seventh-place finish from the 2006 season, equaling the Bears' best finish since placing fourth at the 2001 Big 12 Outdoor Championships. The Lady Bears suffered their worst showing in school history, as Baylor's previous lowest finish came with a pair of eighth-place showings during the 1987 and 1988 seasons.



Tiffany Townsend clocked personal-best times in the 100 meters and 200 meters to lead Baylor at the UT-Arlington Open. Townsend, an indoor All-American in the 200 meters, won the 100 meters in 11.45 and clocked 22.91 to win the 200 meters. The time in the 100 meters ranks as the 16th-fastest time in the nation this season, while the 200-meter time ranks fifth in the country. Only six other collegiate runners have gone under 23 seconds this season, with Townsend the only freshman among the group. Her time in the 100 meters ranks sixth all-time in Baylor history. Her time of 22.91 ranks as the second-fastest time in school history, just four one-hundredths of a second off the school record time of 22.87 clocked by Lakadron Ivery at the NCAA Regionals in 2003. Three other Lady Bears clocked personal-bests in the 200 meters as Carla Grace (23.09), Brittany Bruce (23.58) and Brittany Carr (23.59) all recorded NCAA Regional qualifying times. Grace's time is the sixth-fastest in Baylor history. Loren Hodges won the women's 800 meters with a regional qualifying time of 2:08.09. Hodges, who made a hard kick down the final homestretch, lowered her personal-best time by more than two full seconds.


Danielle Bradley and Lauren Hagans broke two school records at the Payton Jordan Cardinal Invitational at Cobb Track and Angell Field. Bradley clocked a school record time of 10:17.86 in her first-ever running of the 3,000-meter steeplechase. She placed 14th overall, and was the fifth collegiate finisher. The previous record of 10:19.21 was set by Jessa Chance in 2005. Bradley also clocks the fastest-ever time for a Baylor athlete running the steeplechase for the first time. Earlier this season, Erin Bedell recorded a time of 10:24.56 in her first-career steeplechase event. Hagans time of 4:16.16 set a new Baylor mark in the women's 1,500 meters. The time also ranks as the third-fastest time in the nation this season. The former school record of 4:16.82 was set by Sandy Forsythe in 1986. Hagans won the event by more than three seconds, running the last lap virtually by herself. Nichole Jones recorded a time of 4:23.34 to finish fifth overall.



Online Store