Skip to main content Skip to footer
Track Places 13 on Academic all-Big 12 Teams

May 15, 2001

WACO, Texas - Baylor's men's and women's track and field teams placed 13 student athletes on the 2001 Academic all-Big 12 teams, announced Wednesday by the conference office. Seven Baylor female athletes and three Baylor male athletes earned first-team honors, while two female athletes and one male athlete were selected to the second team.

Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the track and field academic all-league squads consist of 196 first-team members and 69 second-team members. First-team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.2 or better grade point average, second-team honorees are those who have a grade point average between 3.0 and 3.19.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.0 grade point average or higher either cumulative or during the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his or her team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are eligible.

First-team honorees on the women's team were Kara Newton (history), Leah Marbach (child and family studies), Kerry O'Bric (chemistry), Stephanie Bennett (biology), Cynthia Benson (biology), Sonja denDulk (human performance) and Lanie Millar. Cecilia Jeverstam (marketing) and Udi Deja Opusunju (health science studies) earned second-team honors.

On the men's side, first-team honorees were Zsolt Szeglet (pre-engineering), Barrett Hall (business administration) and Jeff Dacunha (mathematics). Alex Adler (history) was selected to the second team.

Baylor will return to action this weekend at the Big 12 Outdoor Championships hosted by Texas A&M.



Online Store