Skip to main content Skip to footer
Track & Field Earns 34 Entries To NCAA West Preliminary Rounds

May 18, 2017

Women's Entries | Men's Entries

INDIANAPOLIS - Baylor's track and field teams will be represented by 34 entries and 29 athletes in the NCAA West Preliminary Championships next week at Mike A. Myers Stadium in Austin, Texas.

BU will have 21 entries on the women's side and 13 more on the men's side vying for a chance to get into the top 12 in their respective events and earn a berth to the championship finals site in Eugene, Ore. At the NCAA West Preliminary Rounds, competitors in individual events will be pared from 48 to 24 in the first round and then down to 12 in the second round.

The 21 women's entries tie a program record set in 2014, while the 34 overall selections are second-most in the current NCAA West format, after the 36 that BU had in 2010.

The Baylor women will have 19 entries in individual events, along with both the 4x100 and 4x400-meter relays. Of those entries, Baylor has 12 currently ranked among the top 12 in the West region.

On the men's side, Baylor has 10 in individual events and both relays as well. The Bears have seven currently ranked among the region's top 12.

The Bears have two athletes, who are ranked No. 1 in their event going into the regional meet. Felix Obi owns the region's top triple jump mark at 54-8.25 [16.67m], but he hasn't competed since the Baylor Invitational on April 8 due to a nagging injury. Meanwhile, Annie Rhodes set a school record, while winning the Big 12 title in the pole vault with a nation's best clearance of 15-1.5 [4.61m].

BU has four athletes competing in two individual events: Taylor Bennett (100, 200 meters), Cion Hicks (discus, shot put), Kiana Horton (100, 200 meters), Juanita Mainoo (100 meters, 200 meters), and Maxwell Willis (100 meters, 200 meters).

In two events, Baylor has three entries, including the women's 100 (Bennett, Horton, Mainoo) and 200 meters (Bennett, Horton, Mainoo).

Baylor's participation in the NCAA West Preliminary Round will begin on Thursday, May 25, at 11 a.m. with Rhodes in the women's pole vault, while BU will kick off the running of the women's 400-hurdles at 4:30 p.m. Friday's action for BU will begin at 12 p.m. with the women's discus and on Saturday events start at 3 p.m. with the men's triple jump.

One Baylor athlete has already clinched his spot in Eugene, Ore., at the NCAA Outdoor Championships. Heptathlete Jenna Pfeiffer was the 19th accepted entry into the 24-person heptathlon field. The multi-events are not contested at the Preliminary Championships site and instead just the 24 highest scores in the country make the final site. Pfeiffer's 5,584 points scored at the Big 12 Championship was a school record and secured her spot at the national meet.

Follow @BaylorTrack on Twitter and Instagram for updates on the team all season.

Listed by rank and seed mark
100 Meters
11. Taylor Bennett (SO) - 11.25
27. Kiana Horton (SO) - 11.46
48. Juanita Mainoo (JR) - 11.58

4. Maxwell Willis (FR) - 10.03

200 Meters
4. Taylor Bennett (SO) - 22.47
17. Kiana Horton (SO) - 23.06
29. Juanita Mainoo (JR) - 23.35

2. Maxwell Willis (FR) - 20.07
28. Malik Wilson (JR) - 20.80

400 Meters
12. Leticia De Souza (JR) - 52.74
33. Victoria Powell (SR) - 53.73

6. Wil London (SO) - 45.46
10. George Caddick (SR) - 45.80

800 Meters
16. Zak Curran (SR) - 1:48.60

5,000 Meters
12. Maggie Montoya (SR) - 15:55.62

10,000 Meters
24. Lindsey Bradley (FR) - 33:59.56
45. Peyton Thomas (SR) - 34.46.64

110 Hurdles
14. Rhys Phillips (SR) - 13.79

400 Hurdles
5. Kiana Hawn (JR) - 57.16

37. Antwuan Musgrove (SO) - 51.83

4x100-Meter Relay
8. Baylor (Horton, Bennett, Mainoo, King) - 44.08

9. Baylor (Wilson, London, Willis, Braxton) - 39.42

4x400-Meter Relay
5. Baylor (Powell, Hawn, Bennett, De Souza) - 3:30.34

2. Baylor (Willis, London, Dickson, Caddick) - 3:03.11

Pole Vault
1. Annie Rhodes (SR) - 4.61m

21. Ryan Womack (SO) - 5.30m
42. Greyson Gonzalez (SO) - 5.11m

Triple Jump
4. Brianna Richardson (SR) - 13.59m
5. Rachel Toliver (SR) - 13.54m

1. Felix Obi (SR) - 16.67m

Shot Put
5. Cion Hicks (SR) - 17.33m

3. Cion Hicks (SR) - 57.16m

Javelin Throw
30. Jenna Pfeiffer (SR) - 47.15m
33. Megan SaxvanderWeyden (SO) - 46.40m

Keep up with the Bears all season long by following @BaylorTrack on Twitter.



Online Store