Skip to main content Skip to footer
Bromell Named to Bowerman Watch List

Trayvon Bromell

May 21, 2014

NEW ORLEANS - Baylor track and field sprinter Trayvon Bromell was one of 10 athletes named to the Post-Conference Championships edition of The Bowerman Award watch list, the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Wednesday.

The freshman is the first Baylor athlete to ever earn the distinction. The Bowerman Trophy, which was first awarded in 2009, is presented annually by the USTFCCCA to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track & field athletes in the nation.

At last weekend's Big 12 Conference Championships, the St. Petersburg, Fla., product, ran the third-fastest all-conditions 100 meters in collegiate history with a Big 12 title-winning and all-conditions world-leading 9.77w (+4.2m/s). At the conference meet, Bromell also took eighth in the 200-meter dash and helped anchor BU's 4x100-meter relay crew to an event title.

Bromell's contributions helped the Bears score 93 points and take fourth overall. That is BU's highest point total since 1998 (101) and highest men's team finish since 2001 (4th).

The 100-meter conference performance gives Bromell both the all-conditions and wind-legal collegiate leads, dating to his 10.01 win at the Texas Relays back in March. That mark equaled the World Junior record in the event and was a Baylor school record.

In the opening week of the season, Bromell ran a time of 20.23 in the 200 meters, which still stands as the seventh-fastest time in the country.

During the indoor season, Bromell finished 10th at the 60-meter distance at the NCAA Division I Indoor Championships. He took third at 60 meters and fifth at 200 meters at the Big 12 Championships.

Bromell is one of only two freshmen on the list, joining Oregon's Edward Cheserek. Other watch list member include Ryan Crouser (Texas), Wayne Davis II (Texas A&M), Dedric Dukes (Florida), Kennedy Kithuka (Texas Tech), Lawi Lalang (Arizona), Deon Lendore (Texas A&M), Anthony Rotich (UTEP) and Julian Wruck (UCLA).

The Watch List is determined by the Men's Watch List Committee, which is made up of four individuals. Each of the four submit a rank-ordered top 10 list (vote totals will not be disclosed) and the 10 student-athletes who garner the most vote-points are included on the Watch List, which are released throughout the season. Student-athletes who received votes but did not make the top 10 are also listed.

Keep up with the Bears all season long by following @BaylorTrack on Twitter.



Online Store