Bedell, Dillon Honored with Postgraduate Scholarships

Lyndsy Bedell

June 2, 2009

IRVING, Texas – Baylor’s Lyndsy Bedell (cross country/track and field) and Zack Dillon (baseball) are two of the 24 Big 12 student-athletes selected to receive 2008-09 Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarships, the conference office announced Tuesday.

The scholarships are named in honor of the late Dr. Prentice Gautt, a former Big 12 Conference staff member and student services’ pioneer who passed away in March 2005. The list of all-time recipients has grown to 225 since the inception of the league in 1996-97. Starting in 2002-03, additional funding increased scholarship award winners to two per member institution.

To date the Big 12 has provided $1,385,600 for postgraduate education. The individual grants began at $2,500 in 1996-97, were raised to $5,000 in 1999, increased to $6,900 for 2004-05 and climbed to $7,500 in 2006-07.

Criteria for the awards includes a cumulative grade point average of 3.500 on a 4.000 scale, participation in at least two years of intercollegiate athletics at the nominee’s respective institution and completion of athletics’ eligibility. The student-athletes also must graduate from their respective institutions within 15 months of their selection for a postgraduate scholarship and are expected to enroll in graduate/professional schools within two years of graduation. Three faculty representatives, one senior woman administrator and one director of athletics form the selection panel for the awards.

2008-09 Dr. Prentice Gautt Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients
Name, School-Sport
Lyndsy Bedell, Baylor (Cross Country and Track)
Zack Dillon, Baylor (Baseball)

Rachel Gioscia, Colorado (Cross Country and Track)
Chase Dukes, Colorado (Track & Field)
Leia Jackson, Iowa State (Track & Field)
Brandon Rooney Iowa State (Cross Country and Track)
Valerie Chapple, Kansas (Softball)
Russell Brorsen, Kansas (Football)
Heather Hoffman, Kansas State (Rowing)
Jason Collett, Kansas State (Track & Field)
JaNay Woolridge, Missouri (Track & Field)
Joseph Garrity, Missouri (Wrestling)
Amanda Gates, Nebraska (Volleyball)
Nicholas Sullivan, Nebraska (Baseball)
Haley De Prospero, Oklahoma (Gymnastics)
Jacob Massina, Oklahoma (Gymnastics)
Karin Kinnerud, Oklahoma State (Golf)
Alejandro Ruiz, Oklahoma State (Cross Country and Track)
Stephanie Logterman, Texas (Soccer)
Chris Ogbonnaya, Texas (Football)
Genna Fishgold, Texas A&M (Equestrian)
Mitch Bible, Texas A&M (Cross Country and Track)
Megan Shupp, Texas Tech (Softball)
Brian Cloud, Texas Tech (Baseball)



Online Store