Skip to main content Skip to footer
Track Academics Honored by USTFCCCA

Jessica Ubanyionwu

Aug. 11, 2011

NEW ORLEANS - The Baylor men's and women's track and field teams, along with 11 individuals were named to the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association All-Academic team, announced by USTFCCCA officials.

Earning the team honors on both sides, Baylor's women also earned nine individual honors, while the men added two.

For the women, seniors Brittany Bruce and Leigh Ann Ganzar, along with juniors Diamond Richardson and Jessica Ubanyionwu were named to the list. A trio of sophomores in Christina Holland, Lizzy Whitney and Brittany OgunMokun, as well as freshmen Robyn Bennett and Tiffani McReynolds were recognized. Bruce was honored for the fourth time, while Richardson and Ubanyionwu were each honored for the third straight year.

On the men's side, junior James Gilreath and sophomore Drew Seale each earned the academic distinction. The honor for Gilreath marked the second consecutive year.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, institutions must have a team grade-point-average of at least 3.00, while the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative GPA of 3.25 and have met either of the following athletic standards: for the indoor season, a student-athlete must have finished the regular season ranked in the national top 96 in an individual event or ranked in the national top 48 (collective listing) in a relay event on the official NCAA POP list provided by; for the outdoor season, a student-athlete must have participated in any round of the NCAA Division I Championships (including preliminary rounds).



Online Store