Women's Cross Country 15th at NCAA Meet

Nov. 21, 2005

2005 NCAA Cross Country Championship Results

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. -- Led by freshman Erin Bedell, the Baylor women's cross country team finished 15th at the NCAA Cross Country Championships, the highest finish for the women's team since 1998 when the Bears finished eighth, and the third best finish at the meet in school history.

"We came out real aggressive today and ran a great race," head coach Todd Harbour said. "We were a few points away from a top-ten finish; and, with everyone returning, I think the team is already excited about what we can accomplish next year. Overall, it was a very strong performance."

For the first time this season, Erin Bedell was the first Baylor runner to cross the line, finishing 40th overall (30th among scored runners) with a time of 20:34.6. The first-year runner's impressive showing ranked her first in the nation among true-freshman runners as Lindsay Flacks of Stanford, a redshirt freshman, was the only freshman classification runner to defeat Bedell.

Brittany Brockman was the next Baylor runner to cross the finish line as the junior raced to a 56th-place finish (40th among scored runners) with a time of 20:43.5.

Monique Ortega, who has battled an injury throughout the year, was the third Baylor runner to cross the finish as the junior finished 115th (87th among scored runners) in a time of 21:15.5.

Lauren Hagans (138th, 104 scoring, 21:25.8) and Lyndsy Bedell (188th, 151 scoring, 21:56.5) rounded out the scoring for Baylor as the Bears finished with their lowest point total since they scored 351 points at the 1998 NCAA Championships.



Baylor's Jessi Barnes (222nd, 22:26.6) and Brittany McGuire (237th, 22:53.8) also ran for the Bears but finished out of the scoring.

Baylor finished first among teams out of the South Central Regional and third among teams from the Big 12 Conference, finishing behind Colorado and Oklahoma State.

Stanford captured the women's team title with a score of 146 while Northern Arizona's Johanna Nilsson captured the women's individual title, finishing the 6,000-meter course in a time of 19:34.0.

Online Store