Skip to main content Skip to footer
XC Leads Big 12 With 22 On Academic Team

Blake Niccum

Oct. 23, 2012

Complete Big 12 Release

IRVING, Texas - The Baylor cross country team was first among the Big 12's ten institutions with 22 student-athletes earning a spot on the Academic All-Big 12 team, the league office announced on Tuesday.

The Bears had eight men and 14 women recognized overall, while seven men and 12 women were first-team honorees. BU tallied more overall and first-team selections than any women's team in the league.

On the men's side, senior Taylor Jackson was honored for a third straight season on the first team, while Ben Allen, Jesse Brooks, Brad Miles, Blake Niccum and Jonathan Tijerina were recognized for a second time on the first team. Alex LeRoux was a first-time first-team selection and Matt Galvin was a first-time second-team member.

For the women, Leah Frazier and Mariah Kelly made the first team for a second year in a row, while Sarah Guhl, Erin Hegarty, Jenna Henrich, Lauren Hierholzer, Rachel Johnson, Kim Kirby, Erika Overbeck, Bree Schrader, Lauren Stevens and Lizzy Whitney were first-time honorees. On the second team, Courtney Cox garnered her first recognition, while Brittany OgunMokun is now a two-time selection.

Four of those student-athletes, Niccum, Hegarty, Schrader and Guhl, were among 13 runners across the conference that was nominated with a 4.0 grade point average.

Throughout the league, 50 men's student-athletes were honored, including 39 on the first team and 11 on the second team. Sixty-eight of the 77 members on the women's side earned first team recognition, with nine individuals collecting second team designations.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence.

Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.



Online Store