Skip to main content Skip to footer
XC Places 18 on Academic All-Big 12 Team

Senior Sam Patty was honored on the first team for the third straight year.

Oct. 25, 2011

Complete Big 12 Release

WACO, Texas– Baylor’s cross country team placed 18 student-athletes on the Academic All-Big 12 team, announced Tuesday by the league office.

Of the 17 receiving the honor, five are being honored for at least the second straight year. For the women, seniors Kristen Hanselka, Samantha Patty and Cate Westenhover appeared on the first-team for the third consecutive season. On the men’s side, senior Zac Flowers is also included on the list for the third time in his career, while Taylor Jackson is being honored for the second straight time.

Junior Blake Niccum, receiving the honor for the first time, is one of 10 student-athletes in the Big 12 to be nominated with a 4.00 grade-point-average.

Ben Allen, Jesse Brooks, Brad Miles, Jonathan Tijerina, Samantha Allen, Robyn Bennett, Alexa Farris, Leah Frazier, Mariah Kelly, Brittany OgunMokun, Lindsay Warner and Natalia Liz earned the honor for the first time in their careers.

A total of 72 men’s student-athletes were honored, 55 first team selections and 17 second team honorees. For the women, 85 individuals collected honors with 69 first team designations and 16 second team.

First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.



Online Store