Skip to main content Skip to footer
XC Places 11 on Academic All-Big 12 Team

Oct. 26, 2010

Conference Release

– Baylor’s cross country teams combined to place 11 student-athletes on the Academic All-Big 12 teams announced Tuesday by the league office.

Of the 11 on the team, eight are being honored for the at least the second consecutive year, while senior Jeff Sadler earned first-team honors for the third consecutive season. Leigh Ann Ganzar, Kristen Hanselka, Samantha Patty, Lauren Simpson and Cate Westenhover all earned first-team honors for the second straight year. Zac Flowers and Katie Shaw each earned second-team honors for the second season in a row.

Meanwhile, Logan Roberts, Taylor Jackson and Lizzy Whitney were all named to the Academic All-Big 12 First Team for the first time in their careers.

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services, the men’s cross country academic all-league squad consisted of 57 first team members combined with 13 on the second team, while the women had 66 first team recipients and 11 student-athletes on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.



Online Store