Ten Runners Earn Academic All-Big 12 Honors

Oct. 28, 2003

DALLAS - The Big 12 Conference takes great pleasure in honoring 114 student-athletes, who have been named to the 2003 Men and Women's Cross Country Academic All-Big 12 teams. The league office announced the honorees Tuesday.

The academic all-conference selections include 58 student-athletes on the women's side and 56 on the men's side. Of the 114 honored, 12 were nominated with a 4.00 grade point average. The women's student-athletes with a perfect GPA include Megan McCoin of Baylor; Megan Manthe of Kansas; Valerie Lauver and Serena Ramsey of Missouri; Lisa Bowles of Oklahoma State; Sarah Steadman and Landra Stewardson of Texas A&M; and Tracie Akerheilm, Kelly Blikre and Abby Schubert of Texas Tech. The men's 4.00 GPA student-athletes are Oklahoma State's Greg Rouault and Missouri's Ryan Hampton.

Texas will host the eighth annual Big 12 Men and Women's Cross Country Championships Friday, at Barton Creek Lakeside Country Club in Spicewood, Texas (northwest of Austin). The men's 8,000-meter race will start at 9 a.m. (CST), while the women will run their 6,000-meter race at 10 a.m. (CST).

Colorado's men's team has yet to lose a Big 12 cross country title and is an eight-time defending league champion dating back to the final year of the Big Eight Conference in 1995. The CU women's team has won the last four Big 12 titles - 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002 - and has won six of the seven league titles with Kansas State winning the 1998 crown.

Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the cross country academic all-league squad consisted of 94 combined first-team members with 20 on the second team. First-team members consist of those who maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, while the second team are those who have posted 3.00 to 3.19 GPAs.

To qualify student-athletes must have a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his/her team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are eligible.

Baylor Student-Athletes - Academic All-Big 12
(3.20-plus grade point average; * indicates nominated with a 4.00 GPA)
First Team

Matt Chance - Senior - Accounting
Erin Dixon - Senior - Nutrition Sciences
Katherine Duncan - Senior - Art History
Kyle King - Senior - Mathematics
*Megan McCoin - Senior - Biology
Bo Price - Sophomore - Undecided
Lindsey Price - Senior - Biology
April Hurst - Junior - International Studies
Lisa Cornelius - Sophomore - Undecided

Second Team
(3.00 to 3.19 grade point average)

Jason Baker - Junior - Finance/Insurance and Real Estate

For a complete listing, please visit: www.big12sports.com



Online Store