Women's Cross Country Selected for NCAAs

Nov. 17, 2008

WACO, Texas - The 18th-ranked Baylor women's cross country team received an at-large berth to the NCAA Championships held next week in Terre Haute, Ind. the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association announced. The Lady Bears will make their sixth straight appearance at the national championships.

"We are honored again to be selected to the NCAA Championships," said head coach Todd Harbour. "We are making our sixth-straight trip to NCs and our 12th overall which is quite an accomplishment."

Baylor tied for second overall at the NCAA South Central Regional last weekend in Waco, but lost the tiebreaker to Rice for the second automatic NCAA Championship position. Arkansas won the region championship to claim the other automatic spot.

The Lady Bears will be making their sixth-straight trip to the NCAA Championships, and will look to improve on their 17th-place finish in 2007. Baylor was the top-finishing team from the Big 12 Conference, and secured its fourth-highest finish in program history. Baylor was unranked last season when it received an at-large berth.

"We can't take it for granted when we get selected to the NCAA Championships," said Harbour. "There are a lot of teams that are normally there that didn't receive at-large berths. We enjoyed not having all the drama that we did last year when we were one of the last teams selected. Hopefully we saved our legs this weekend and will have a good showing next week.

Thirty-one teams were selected to participate in the championship. The top two, seven-person teams automatically qualified from each of the nine regions, for a total of 18 teams. Thirteen additional teams were selected at-large.

Indiana State University will host the 2008 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Cross Country Championships, November 24, at the LaVern Gibson Championship Course located at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center, Terre Haute, Indiana. The women's race will begin at 12:08 p.m. Eastern time followed by the men's race at 12:48 p.m. Both championship races will be broadcast live on CBS College Sports.



Online Store