Skip to main content Skip to footer

Karry Forsythe

Karry  Forsythe

Head Coach

Alma Mater:
Sam Houston State, 1999


Karry Forsythe is in her second year as head coach of Baylor's newest intercollegiate athletics program, acrobatics and tumbling.

Acrobatics and tumbling was approved as Baylor's 11th women's sport and 19th sport by the University's Board of Regents in July 2009. Baylor is the first Big 12 institution to implement a varsity acrobatics and tumbling program and one of three Bowl Championship Series (BCS) members nationally, joining Maryland (ACC) and Oregon (Pac-12).

A native of Houston, Forsythe was at Blinn College from 2001-2010 serving as coach of the small co-ed cheer team as well as the dance team. Forsythe's Blinn squads competed in six National Cheerleaders Association (NCA) Collegiate Cheer & Dance Championships, earning top-six finishes each year including a second-place finish in 2009.

Forsythe is a 1999 graduate of Sam Houston State and earned a master's degree from Prairie View A&M in 2003. She was a member of Blinn's dance team in 1994-95 before transferring to SHSU to complete her undergraduate degree. Forsythe spent two years at Brenham High School as a teacher and cheer and dance coach before moving to Blinn.

Despite fielding the nation's youngest team in her first season at Baylor, Forsythe led A&T to fourth place in the NCATA regular season with a 2-4 record. At the first-ever NCATA National Championship, Baylor finished third overall after the Bears defeated Fairmont State in the first round and fell to eventual national champion Oregon in the semi-finals.

Forsythe's squad also won its first-ever individual event title when Nicole Allison, Katie Collier and Madeline French won the national championship in the 5-element stunt event. The Bears also had a pair of All-Americans in Jayme Edwards and Madeline Felio, and Baylor placed three student-athletes on the Academic All-Big 12 Conference At-Large Team. Felio was named first-team Academic All-Big 12, while Taylor Bettis and DeLainey McDermott earned second-team honors.

Forsythe's 2011-12 version of the Bears features 21 returnees from the inaugural season and 19 newcomers.

Online Store