Skip to main content Skip to footer
Baylor Bats Bury Cajuns, 12-4

Feb. 16, 2003

Box Score

HOUSTON, Texas - The Baylor offense came alive Sunday at the 10th-ranked Bears beat Louisiana-Lafayette 12-4 in the teams' finale at the 2003 Minute Maid Park College Classic.

After beating No. 13 Houston on Friday, Baylor (4-3) went 2-1 away from home for the second straight weekend. The Bears took two of three from Arizona in Tucson last weekend, and suffered only a 4-3 loss Saturday to No. 2 Rice in the Astros' tournament.

Louisiana-Lafayette (2-5) dropped its third straight game in the tournament and fifth straight overall.

Five Bears had at least three hits in the game Sunday, led by nine-hole hitter Paul Witt, who had four hits and scored twice. The Bears' No. 1 and No. 2 hitters, Chris Durbin and David Murphy, combined to go 6-for-11 with five runs scored and five RBI in the game. Michael Griffin also had three hits and two RBI as he continued his torrid hitting.

After scoring a single run in the first, Durbin singled in a pair in the second to up the lead to 3-0. Murphy followed with a drive to straightaway center that ULL centerfielder Jason Wilson dove for and missed. As the ball rolled to the wall, Murphy circled the bases for an inside-the-park home run as the Bears went up 5-0.

The Baylor offense knocked out starter Austin Faught (0-1) in the third and continued to roll against reliever Kevin Ardoin, scoring twice in the third, three times in the fourth and twice more in the fifth to cap the scoring.

Baylor starter Steven White (1-0) earned his first win after an impressive performance. White allowed only two runs on six hits in seven innings, walking none. The senior struck out nine Cajuns, one shy of his career high.

The Bears now head home for a Tuesday game against UT-Arlington, set for 6 p.m. at Baylor Ballpark. Baylor then hosts Southern California on the weekend, with game times scheduled for 6 p.m. Friday, 4 p.m. Saturday and 12:30 p.m. Sunday.



UPDATE: Michael Griffin was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player, marking the third straight year a Bear has been named MOP (Kelly Shoppach, 2001; Tim Hartshorn, 2002). Joining Griffin on the all-tournament team were Josh Ford (C), Paul Witt (2B), Trey Webb (SS), David Murphy (OF) and Chris Durbin (OF).

Online Store