Go Bears!
GO Bears!
Go Bears!
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Pinckard Named to Stopper Watch List

Brooks Pinckard posted 12 saves in 2010, the third-best single-season total in program history.

Brooks Pinckard posted 12 saves in 2010, the third-best single-season total in program history.

Feb. 1, 2011

WICHITA, Kan. - Baylor junior right-handed pitcher Brooks Pinckard has been named to the initial watch list for the seventh annual National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Stopper of the Year Award, as announced by the NCBWA Tuesday.

Pinckard is one of 45 pitchers nationally and one of four from the Big 12 Conference on the 2011 preseason watch list. Kansas State's James Allen, Oklahoma's Ryan Duke and Texas' Hoby Milner are the other members of the list from Big 12 programs.

The award is given out annually to the top relief pitcher in NCAA Division I baseball. Pinckard, who set a Baylor sophomore record with 12 saves last season, is on the list for the second straight season after being added to the midseason list in 2010.

The only previous Baylor pitcher to be named to the Stopper of the Year watch list in consecutive seasons was Nick Cassavechia, who appeared on the list in 2007 and 2008.

Among the pitchers on this year's list, only Chris Dennis (Portland), Kevin McKague (Army), Mike McGee (Florida State) and Kevin Lee (Iowa) had more saves than Pinckard a year ago.

The initial watch list will be updated the week of April 18. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists on June 1. The winner of the seventh Stopper of the Year Award, who will be chosen by the NCBWA All-America Committee, will be announced on the opening day of the College World Series on June 18.

A native of Buda, Texas, Pinckard pitched to a 2-4 record with 12 saves and a 2.45 ERA in 33.0 innings over 23 relief appearances last season. He was also a standout in the field, hitting .305 with 12 doubles, six triples and two home runs. He scored 41 runs, collected 28 RBI and went 18-for-20 stealing bases.

No. 16 Baylor opens the 2011 season by hosting the QTI Powers Opening Weekend Classic at Baylor Ballpark, when the Bears take on Oral Roberts in a three-game series from Feb. 18-20. For tickets, call the Baylor Athletics Ticket Office at 254-710-1000 or order online at www.BaylorBears.com.

2005 - J. Brent Cox (Texas)
2006 - Don Czyz (Kansas)
2007 - Luke Prihoda (Sam Houston State)
2008 - Joshua Fields (Georgia)
2009 - Addison Reed (San Diego State)
2010 - Chance Ruffin (Texas)

2005 - Abe Woody
2007 - Nick Cassavechia
2008 - Nick Cassavechia
2010 - Brooks Pinckard
2011 - Brooks Pinckard

James Allen (Kansas State)
Cameron Amsrud (Milwaukee)
Collin Cargill (Southern Miss)
Andrew Chafin (Kent State)
Pat Christensen (La Salle)
Rye Davis (Western Kentucky)
Chris Dennis (Portland)
Michael Devine (VMI)
Ryan Duke (Oklahoma)
Alex Frederick (Clemson)
Tyler Gebler (Rutgers)
Thomas Girdwood (Elon)
Brian Hamilton (Charlotte)
Brett Huber (Ole Miss)
Jon Ivie (Belmont)
Chris Kaminski (Jacksonville)
Cory Kent (Lehigh)
Mitchell Lambson (Arizona State)
Gardner Leaver (Rhode Island)
Kevin Lee (Iowa)
Lenny Linsky (Hawaii)
Kenny Long (Illinois State)
Scott Matyas (Minnesota)
Mike McGee (Florida State)
Scott McGough (Oregon)
Kevin McKague (Army)
Andy Mee (Florida Atlantic)
Hoby Milner (Texas)
Jake Morgan (Ole Miss)
Matty Ott (LSU)
Nick Pepitone (Tulane)
Brooks Pinckard (Baylor)
Matt Price (South Carolina)
Ryne Purcell (Eastern Kentucky)
Nick Ramirez (Cal State Fullerton)
Joe Rogers (UCF)
Lex Rutledge (Samford)
Chad Sheppard (Northwestern State)
Seth Simmons (East Carolina)
Paul Snieder (Northwestern)
John Soldinger (Manhattan)
Kevin Vance (Connecticut)
Trever Vermeulen (South Dakota State)
Jack Wagoner (Florida Gulf Coast)
Jason West (Stephen F. Austin)



   Shop Now at the Official Online Store