Skip to main content Skip to footer
Former BU Coach Dutch Schroeder Named to SWC Hall of Fame

Dutch Schroeder

March 7, 2014

WACO, Texas - Former Baylor baseball head coach Dutch Schroeder will be inducted into the 2014 South West Conference Hall of Fame, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame announced Friday.
The newly reinitiated South West Conference Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Texas Sports Hall of Fame and will induct its second class since 1995 on Monday, April 7, at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in Houston.  The nine-person class also includes Marci Bozarth (TCU), Chris Gilbert (Texas), Jacob Green (Texas A&M), Chuck Hixson (SMU), David Klingler (Houston), Coach John McDonnell (Arkansas), Regina Cavanaugh Murphy (Rice) and Carolyn Thompson (Texas Tech).
Schroeder’s connection to Baylor dates back nearly six decades as he enrolled at Baylor in 1948 and began his Baylor career as a player during the 1948-49 seasons. He was named head coach in the fall of 1961 and continued to coach the team through the 1973 season. 
Through his 12-season tenure as Baylor’s head coach, Schroeder amassed a 196-165-1 record with the Bears, including one Southwest Conference championship in the 1966 season.  He still stands as the program’s third winningest coach and was the program’s winningest coach until Mickey Sullivan surpassed him in 1980.
For tickets to the induction luncheon visit,  



Online Store