Skip to 15 top headlines (New Page)


Baseball Set for Big 12 Championship

Cal Towey leads Baylor in RBI and game-winning hits.

May 20, 2013


Baylor (27-25) at 2013 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship
May 23-26, 2013
Oklahoma City, Okla. | Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark

Big 12 Championship Central | Tournament Notes | Bracket

WACO, Texas - No. 5 seed Baylor begins postseason play on Thursday at 9 a.m. CT against No. 4 seed Oklahoma to start off the Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship at Oklahoma City's Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark.

With the change to pool play due to the devastating events in the Oklahoma City area, the Bears will face No. 1 Kansas State on Friday at 12:30 p.m. and No. 8 Texas Tech on Saturday at 9 a.m. to complete Pool One play.  The winner of Pool One wil then face the winner of Pool Two in the championship on Sunday at 1 p.m.

Every game of the Big 12 Championship will be televised by FCS and live stats will be available through Sunday's Big 12 Championship title game will be televised on FSN. All Baylor baseball games are broadcast live on Waco's 1660 ESPN Radio. Live streaming audio is available for all Baylor baseball games online at, the official website of Baylor Athletics and a member of the CBS College Sports Network.

Dates: May 23-26, 2013
Times: 9:00 AM | 12:30 PM | 9:00 AM | 1:00 PM
Location: Oklahoma City, Okla.
Stadium: Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark
Radio: ESPN/KRZI 1660 AM (Waco)
Talent: Tom Barfield (pxp); Lark Smith (color)
TV: FCS (Championship on FSN)
Talent: Bob Licht (pxp); Jack Lazorko (color); and Chad McKee (pxp); Jay Payton (color)

Overall: 28-26
Oklahoma City: 26-22
Bricktown Ballpark: 26-20
Pool Play: 10-7
vs. Oklahoma: 3-2
vs. Texas Tech: 3-1
vs. Kansas State: 3-3

Live Stats:
Video: N/A
Twitter Updates: @BaylorBaseball

2013 Record: 27-25
2013 Big 12 Record: 12-11
Head Coach: Steve Smith
Career: 695-457-1 (19th season)
BU: 695-457-1 (19th season)

AVG: Nathan Orf (.380)
2B: Nathan Orf (12)
HR: Grayson Porter (5)
RBI: Cal Towey (43)
SB: Adam Toth (18)

2013 Record: 36-19
2013 Big 12 Record: 13-11
2013 vs. BU: BU won 2 of 3 in Waco

2013 Record: 39-16
2013 Big 12 Record: 16-8
2013 vs. BU: BU won 2 of 3 in Waco

2013 Record: 25-28
2013 Big 12 Record: 9-15
2013 vs. BU: TTU won 2 of 3 in Lubbock

*Baylor has been a five seed in the Big 12 Championship four other times (1997, 2003, 2006, 2011) and owns a 5-8 record as a five seed, appearing in the title in 2003. The last five seed to win the title was Texas in 2008.

*Overall, five seeds own a 20-29 record in the Big 12 Championship, have appeared in four titles (1999, 2003, 2007, 2008) and have won two titles (Texas A&M in 2007, Texas in 2008).

*Baylor is 11-5 in Big 12 Championship opening games, 5-7 in elimination games, 0-6 in title games and 10-7 in pool play format.

*Baylor has won at least two games in the Big 12 Championship nine times in 16 seasons.

*Baylor has appeared in the Big 12 Championship final six times (1999, 2000, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2010) and is 0-6.

*Baylor has 28 all-time Big 12 Championship All-Tournament selections, including one Most Outstanding Player (Jason Jennings, 1999).

*Baylor and Oklahoma are the only programs to have participated in every Big 12 Conference Championship.

*Baylor has had 12 or more Big 12 wins in all but two of 17 seasons and has had 10 or more each year.

*Since 1977, Baylor has had 27 or more wins 29 times and has had 20 or more wins every year since 1972.

*Baylor is 9-4 in TV games this season, 18-9 since 2011 and 47-50 all-time.

*Baylor had eight 2013 All-Big 12 selections and has had eight or more All-Big 12 selections in three of the last four years and five times overall.

*Baylor led all Big 12 schools with 11 Academic All-Big 12 selections, tying a school record and marking the fifth straight season with nine or more honorees.

The Big 12 Championship makes its 15th appearance at Oklahoma City this season. Each of the first five Big 12 tournaments, the 2003 tournament and each of the last nine events have been played in Oklahoma City. The 2002 and 2004 tournaments, both at Rangers Ballpark in Arlington, were the only Big 12 tournaments not played in Oklahoma City. The only tournament in Oklahoma City not played at Bricktown Ballpark was the initial event in 1997, which was played at All-Sports Stadium.

Baylor is 37-39 in the all-time series against Oklahoma, including a 5-2 record in neutral site meetings and 3-2 record in Big 12 Championship games. Baylor has won nine of 17 series against Oklahoma in Big 12 play, including winning two of three in Waco this season.

Baylor is 41-18 in the all-time series against Kansas State, including a 3-3 record in neutral site meetings and 3-3 record in Big 12 Championship games. The Bears have won 14 of 17 all-time Big 12 series against the Wildcats, including taking two of three in Waco this season.

Baylor is 75-76 all-time against Texas Tech, including a 4-2 record in neutral-site games and 3-1 record in Big 12 Championship games. Baylor has won eight of 17 Big 12 series against Texas Tech, but lost two of three in Lubbock this season.

Baylor has won three conference tournament championships, all in the Southwest Conference. In its only three Southwest Conference Tournament title appearances Baylor came out on top -- 7-0 in 1977 against Texas, 11-3 against Houston in 1978 and 10-6 against Texas in 1993. Baylor has fallen in all six title appearances in the Big 12 Championship -- 4-3 against Nebraska in 1999, 11-3 against Nebraska in 2000, 10-8 in 10 innings against Texas in 2003, 1-0 against Nebraska in 2005, 14-6 against Texas A&M in 2007 and 5-3 in 10 innings against Texas A&M in 2010.

Eight Baylor baseball players earned 2013 All-Big 12 status, the league announced Tuesday. With a school-record 11 honorees last year and eight in 2010, Baylor has had eight or more All-Big 12 selections in three of the last four years and five times overall (2003, 2005). Baylor had two first team selections in DH Nathan Orf (2012 First Team) and INF Cal Towey (Unanimous Choice, 2012 Second Team). Baylor had two second team selections in RP Crayton Bare and INF Lawton Langford (2012 First Team). Baylor had four honorable mention players in RHP Max Garner (2012 First Team Reliever), INF Jake Miller, RHP Dillon Newman and OF Grayson Porter. Baylor players have earned 110 all-conference honors in the league's 17-year history, and the Bears have had 40 first-team selections.

Baylor led all Big 12 schools with 11 2013 Academic All-Big 12 Baseball Team selections, the league announced May 16. Baylor's 11 Academic All-Big 12 selections tied a school record set in 2009 as Baylor has had at least nine Academic All-Big 12 selections in each of the last five seasons. Baylor leads all Big 12 schools with 100 first team Academic All-Big 12 selections, 20 more than any other program.

Individually, senior Kolt Browder became Baylor's second-ever four-time first team Academic All-Big 12 honoree (Zach Dillon) as the Bears had two of the league's three 4.00 GPA Academic All-Big 12 choices in Browder and Doug Ashby. Baylor's first team Academic All-Big 12 honorees were Doug Ashby, Kolt Browder, Logan Brown, Steve DalPorto, Nate Goodwin and Grayson Porter. Baylor's second team Academic All-Big 12 honorees were Crayton Bare, Lawton Langford, Wes Mercurio, Nathan Orf and Duncan Wendel.




Highlights vs. Texas A&M
Baseball | 06/02/2017
Highlights vs. Texas Tech
Baseball | 05/25/2017
Highlights vs. WVU
Baseball | 05/24/2017
Online Store