Skip to main content Skip to footer
Baseball Trio Honored, 11 Named All-Big 12

OKLAHOMA CITY - Baylor baseball's Josh Ludy was named Big 12 Conference Player of the Year, Nathan Orf was selected Newcomer of the Year, Steve Smith was tabbed Coach of the Year, and a school-record 11 players were named to the All-Big 12 teams, as voted on by the league's coaches on Tuesday.

Baylor established school records with seven first-team All-Big 12 players, 11 total All-Big 12 honorees and three players named to the Big 12's All-Freshman team.

Ludy (C), Orf (DH), Lawton Langford (IF), Max Muncy (IF), Logan Vick (OF), Josh Turley (SP) and Max Garner (RP) picked up first-team All-Big 12 honors, shattering the previous school record of four first-team honorees in 1998.

Trent Blank (SP) and Cal Towey (IF) earned second-team All-Big 12 honors, while Dan Evatt (OF) and Joey Hainsfurther (UTL) were named honorable mention. Baylor's 11 total All-Big 12 players broke the school record of 10 set in 2003. Michael Howard (OF), Ryan Smith (P) and Adam Toth (OF) were named to the 14-member All-Freshman team.

Ludy is the fourth Bear to win Big 12 Player of the Year honors from the league's coaches and the first since Kelly Shoppach in 2001. Orf is Baylor's first Big 12 Newcomer of the Year, and he joins Tim Peters, the 1995 Southwest Conference Newcomer of the Year, as the only Baylor players to win a newcomer of the year award in school history.

Smith, who became Baylor's all-time wins leader with his 650th career victory on April 17, has been named Big 12 Coach of the Year by at least one publication in five different seasons. He was previously honored by the league's coaches when he led Baylor to its other outright Big 12 title in 2000.

Smith guided the Bears' to a 20-4 record in Big 12 play, which was the second-best conference season by any team in league history, and the Bears clinched the outright Big 12 title only 18 games into the 24-game conference schedule. It was Baylor's third Big 12 title and its second outright conference championship in the last 89 years.

Baylor accounted for seven of the league's 17 first-team honorees - three more than any other program - and the Bears' 11 total All-Big 12 selections were two more than any other team. Oklahoma State's Andrew Heaney earned the conference's Pitcher of the Year award, and Texas' Parker French was named Big 12 Freshman of the Year.

Baylor players have earned 102 all-conference honors in the league's 16-year history, and the Bears have had 38 first-team selections.

Baylor begins play in the 2012 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Championship at Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark at 12:30 p.m. Wednesday against Kansas State. With a win, the Bears would face the winner of the 9 a.m. Oklahoma-Oklahoma State game at 4 p.m. Thursday, and with a loss, Baylor would face the loser of the OU-OSU game in an elimination game at 9 a.m. Thursday.

Max Garner, RP (1st team)
Lawton Langford, IF (1st team)
Josh Ludy, C (1st team; Big 12 Player of the Year)
Max Muncy, IF (1st team)
Nathan Orf, DH (1st team; Big 12 Newcomer of the Year)
Steve Smith (Big 12 Coach of the Year)
Josh Turley, SP (1st team)
Logan Vick, OF (1st team)
Trent Blank, SP (2nd team)
Cal Towey, IF (2nd team)
Dan Evatt, IF (honorable mention)
Joey Hainsfurther, UTL (honorable mention)
Michael Howard, OF (All-Freshman)
Ryan Smith, P (All-Freshman)
Adam Toth, OF (All-Freshman)



Online Store