Baseball Picked to Host 2012 NCAA Waco Regional

Baylor won its third Big 12 Championship by going 20-4 in conference play this season.

May 27, 2012


WACO, Texas - Baylor has been selected as one of 16 host teams for the 2012 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship. The Bears will host the 2012 Waco Regional, which begins Friday at Baylor Ballpark.

The complete 64-team bracket and top-eight national seeds will be announced at 11 a.m. CT Monday during the 2012 NCAA Division I Baseball Selection Show on ESPNU. If the Bears are picked as one of eight national seeds, they would be guaranteed to host a Super Regional if they win the Waco Regional.

Baylor will be joined by three other teams in the Waco Regional, which is scheduled for two games on Friday, Saturday and Sunday (June 1-3), with the if-necessary game slated for Monday, June 4.

Baylor has hosted Regionals in 1999, 2000 and 2005. The Bears swept all three games to advance and host a Super Regional in 1999 and 2005, but Baylor was eliminated after two games in 2000. Baylor lost to Oklahoma State in the 1999 Super Regional and defeated Clemson in the 2005 Super Regional to advance to the College World Series for the first time since 1978.

Baylor (44-14) won the Big 12 Conference regular-season championship with a 20-4 league record. The Bears sprinted to the league title, clinching it outright prior to losing their first conference game. BU's 18-0 start to Big 12 play gave it the longest conference winning streak in league history.

Baylor has a 29-3 record at Baylor Ballpark this season, and the Bears' school-record 22-game home winning streak is the nation's longest active streak entering the NCAA Tournament.

All-session tickets for the Waco Regional can be purchased online or at the Baylor Athletics Ticket Office in the Ferrell Center, which will be open Monday from noon to 3 p.m. and Tuesday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. All-session tickets are available for $15 (general admission), $25 (reserved) and $35 (box).

Single-game tickets, if available, will go on sale Thursday at 8:30 a.m., and will be priced at $6 (general admission), $10 (reserved) and $15 (box). Baylor students can pick up one of 200 complimentary student tickets for each Baylor game. Student tickets will be available the day of the game on a first-come, first-serve basis after gates open for Baylor games.

Baylor Ballpark gates open 90 minutes prior to first pitch of each contest and the stadium will be cleared in-between games. Game times will be determined when the complete bracket is announced Monday.

Fans can get all regional information at, presented by State Farm®.

Game One: Friday (6/1) - No. 2 seed vs. No. 3 seed
Game Two: Friday (6/1) - No. 1 seed vs. No. 4 seed
Game Three: Saturday (6/2) - Game One loser vs. Game Two loser
Game Four: Saturday (6/2) - Game One winner vs. Game Two winner
Game Five: Sunday (6/3) - Game Three winner vs. Game Four loser
Game Six: Sunday (6/3) - Game Four winner vs. Game Five winner
Game Seven (if necessary): Monday (6/4) - Game Four winner vs. Game Six winner

Arizona - Tucson, Ariz.
BAYLOR - Waco, Texas
Florida - Gainesville, Fla.
Florida State - Tallahassee, Fla.
LSU - Baton Rouge, La.
Miami - Coral Gables, Fla.
North Carolina - Chapel Hill, N.C.
North Carolina State - Raleigh, N.C.
Oregon - Eugene, Ore.
Purdue - Gary, Ind.
Rice - Houston, Texas
South Carolina - Columbia, S.C.
Stanford - Palo Alto, Calif.
Texas A&M - College Station, Texas
UCLA - Los Angeles, Calif.
Virginia - Charlottesville, Va.



Online Store