Skip to main content Skip to footer
Jackson One of 20 Finalists for Bob Cousy Award

Pierre Jackson (Dennis Hubbard)

Jan. 4, 2012

Official Site for Bob Cousy Award

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. -Baylor men's basketball junior Pierre Jackson is one of 20 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Wednesday. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guard in college basketball.

Jackson is one of only two Big 12 point guards among the 20 finalists, joining Missouri's Phil Pressey. Jackson, who was the 2011 NJCAA Division I Player of the Year after leading the College of Southern Idaho to a national title, is averaging 11.6 points, 4.4 assists and 1.6 steals in 25.4 minutes off the bench. The Las Vegas native is shooting 52.5 percent from the floor (53-of-101), 47.7 percent from 3-point range (21-of-44) and 87.5 percent from the free throw line (35-of-40).

Last month, Jackson was named Last Vegas Classic MVP after scoring a career-high 23 points to lead Baylor to an 83-81 overtime win Dec. 23 against West Virginia. At one point, Jackson reeled off eight straight points, including the game-tying field goal late in the second half that eventually sent the game to overtime. Less than a week later, he scored 14 points in a Dec. 28 win against Mississippi State and provided the eventual game-winning layup with 29 seconds remaining.

"The talent level among our 20 finalists demonstrates the competitiveness at the point guard position in college basketball this year," Bob Cousy Award chair Ken Kauffman said in the official finalist release. "As we move through the next rounds to our final award-winner, it will clearly be a difficult decision to select one player from this elite group."

The current listing of 20 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed down to 10 players in early February and then down to five players by early March. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. This Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be awarded at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Mon., April 2, in New Orleans as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A&M), D.J. Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland) and last year's recipient, Kemba Walker (UConn). For more information on the 2012 Bob Cousy, log onto

Follow the Official Twitter feed of Baylor Basketball, @BaylorMBB.

Pierre Jackson, Baylor
Shabazz Napier, UConn
Ray McCallum, Detroit
Seth Curry, Duke
Erving Walker, Florida
Scott Machado, Iona
Casper Ware, Long Beach State
Peyton Siva, Louisville
Trey Burke, Michigan
Dee Bost, Mississippi State
Phil Pressey, Missouri
Kendall Marshall, North Carolina
Aaron Craft, Ohio State
D.J. Cooper, Ohio
Zack Rosen, Penn
Ashton Gibbs, Pittsburgh
Scoop Jardine, Syracuse
Damian Lillard, Weber State
Jordan Taylor, Wisconsin
Tu Holloway, Xavier



Online Store