Skip to main content Skip to footer
Jackson Named Cousy Award Watch List Finalist

Pierre Jackson has scored in double figures in 22 consecutive games, the Big 12's longest active streak.

Jan. 10, 2013

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Baylor men’s basketball senior Pierre Jackson has been selected as one of 20 watch list finalists for the 2013 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Thursday.

The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. Jackson was one of 85 players on the initial watch list, and he’s one of two Big 12 Conference players on the final watch list of 20 players.

A Las Vegas, Nev., native, Jackson leads the Big 12 and ranks 21st nationally with 19.8 points per game, and he ranks second in the Big 12 and 19th nationally with 6.3 assists per game. He’s the nation’s only player ranked in the top 25 in scoring and assists per game.

Jackson has the Big 12 Conference’s longest active streak with 22 consecutive games scoring in double figures, averaging 18.9 points and 6.3 assists per game during the streak. His active streak of 26 consecutive games with at least one three-point field goal made is the fifth-longest streak in Baylor history.

Jackson was one of 11 finalists for the award in his debut season in Waco last year. He’s one of four 2012 finalists returning as members of the 20-man watch list in 2013, joining Phil Pressey (Missouri), Isaiah Canaan (Murray State), Aaron Craft (Ohio State).

The watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 10 in early February, and final five will be selected in early March. A selection committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the final five candidates in contention for the nation’s top collegiate point guard award. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Championship Monday in Atlanta as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and last year’s recipient Kendall Marshall (North Carolina). For more information on the 2013 Bob Cousy, log onto

2013 Bob Cousy Award Candidates
Jahii Carson, Arizona State
Pierre Jackson, Baylor
Quinn Cook, Duke
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga
Keith Appling, Michigan State
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Kendall Williams, New Mexico
Lorenzo Brown, North Carolina State
Aaron Craft, Ohio State
D.J. Cooper, Ohio
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Nate Wolters, South Dakota State
Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse
Mark Lyons, Arizona
Ray McCallum, Detroit-Mercy
Peyton Siva, Louisville
Trey Burke, Michigan
Andre Hollins, Minnesota
Phil Pressey, Missouri
Erick Green, Virginia Tech



Online Store