Jackson One of 11 Finalists for Bob Cousy Award

Pierre Jackson is one of 11 Bob Cousy Award finalists.

Feb. 2, 2012

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Baylor men’s basketball junior Pierre Jackson is one of 11 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced Thursday.

The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guard in college basketball. An original list of 60-plus candidates was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally-based committee to the final list of 11 student-athletes.

Jackson is one of only two Big 12 point guards among the 11 finalists, joining Missouri’s Phil Pressey. Jackson is averaging 12.6 points, 6.0 assists and 1.9 steals in 28.5 minutes. The Las Vegas native is shooting 49.5 percent from the floor, 49.4 percent from 3-point range and 83.6 percent at the free throw line.

In his first season at Baylor, Jackson has been a part of five go-ahead, game-tying or game-winning plays:

  • He blocked BYU’s 3-point attempt at the buzzer to clinch Baylor’s 86-83 road win Dec. 17;
  • He hit a game-tying 3-pointer to force overtime Dec. 23 vs. West Virginia;
  • He hit the game-winning layup with 28 seconds remaining and grabbed a rebound as time expired Dec. 29 vs. Mississippi State;
  • He hit the go-ahead 3-pointer to put Baylor up for good Jan. 28 vs. Texas; and
  • He hit the game-winning 3-pointer with 17 seconds remaining and sealed the game with two free throws Feb. 1 at Texas A&M.

Beginning Feb. 6 via www.cousyaward.com, fans will be able to vote for the top point guard. The player that receives the most fan votes will receive one vote toward the final committee vote. Fan voting will conclude March 6.

The current listing of 11 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed to five players March 8. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be awarded at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Mon., April 2, in New Orleans as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A&M), D.J. Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland) and last year’s recipient, Kemba Walker (UConn). For more information on the 2012 Bob Cousy, log onto www.CousyAward.com.

Follow the Official Twitter feed of Baylor Basketball, @BaylorMBB.

Pierre Jackson, Baylor
Scott Machado, Iona
Casper Ware, Long Beach State
Phil Pressey, Missouri
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Kendall Marshall, North Carolina
Aaron Craft, Ohio State
Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary’s
Scoop Jardine, Syracuse
Damian Lillard, Weber State
Jordan Taylor, Wisconsin



Online Store