Skip to main content Skip to footer
Jones III Named to Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason List

Perry Jones III

Feb. 6, 2012

USBWA Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List Release

ST. LOUIS –Baylor men’s basketball sophomore F Perry Jones III is one of 20 players selected to the 2012 Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason watch list, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced Monday.

Members of the association’s board of directors chose the players to be included on the list as contenders for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, to be presented to the National Player of the Year by its namesake March 30 at the USBWA’s College Basketball Awards Breakfast in New Orleans.

Jones III is joined on the list by two other Big 12 representatives – Missouri’s Marcus Denmon and Kansas’ Thomas Robinson. PJ3, the 2011-12 Big 12 Preseason Player of the Year, is averaging a team-best 14.8 points and 7.9 rebounds in 18 games. He ranks third on the team in field goal percentage (55.2), while averaging a team-high 31.8 minutes. A two-time Big 12 Player of the Week and 2012 John R. Wooden Award midseason list honoree, Jones III was a preseason All-Big 12 selection by the league’s coaches and is the first player in program history to earn conference preseason Player of the Year honors.

While these standout players are the leading contenders to be named to the USBWA’s All-America Team and as finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, all Division I players remain eligible for postseason honors from the USBWA. The association will announce its 2012 All-America Team in mid-March. At that time, finalists will also be chosen for the Player of the Year. Once finalists are announced, the entire USBWA membership will vote for the winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University Of Cincinnati Hall Of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation’s oldest award and the only one named after a former player.

Follow the Official Twitter feed of Baylor Basketball, @BaylorMBB.

Harrison Barnes, North Carolina
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Anthony Davis, Kentucky
Marcus Denmon, Missouri
Draymond Green, Michigan State
John Henson, North Carolina
John Jenkins, Vanderbilt
Kevin Jones, West Virginia
Michael Kidd-Gilcrist, Kentucky
Jeremy Lamb, UConn
Perry Jones III, Baylor
Damian Lillard, Weber State
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Mike Moser, UNLV
Arnett Moultrie, Mississippi State
Thomas Robinson, Kansas
Mike Scott, Virginia
Jared Sullinger, Ohio State
Cody Zeller, Indiana
Tyler Zeller, North Carolina



Online Store