Skip to main content Skip to footer
Jackson Named Cousy Award Finalist

Pierre Jackson leads the Big 12 in points and assists per game.

Feb. 7, 2013

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - Baylor men's basketball senior Pierre Jackson has been selected as one of 12 finalists for the 2013 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Thursday.

Jackson was one of 11 Cousy Award finalists during his debut season at Baylor last year, and he's one of only four players to be finalists in both 2012 and 2013, joining Phil Pressey (Missouri), Matthew Dellavedova (Saint Mary's) and Aaron Craft (Ohio State). The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guard in men's college basketball.

Jackson was one of 85 players on the initial watch list and one of 20 watch list finalists. He's joined by Keith Appling (Michigan State), Lorenzo Brown (North Carolina State), Trey Burke (Michigan), Craft, Dellavadova, Shane Larkin (Miami), Pressey, Peyton Siva (Louisville), Marcus Smart (Oklahoma State), Michael Carter-Williams (Syracuse) and Nate Wolters (South Dakota State).

A Las Vegas, Nev., native, Jackson leads the Big 12 in points and assists per game. His 19.3 points per game rank 21st nationally, and he's tied for 22nd nationally with 6.0 assists per game. Jackson is the only player in the nation's top 25 in both points and assists per game, and he's on track to be the first player from a power-6 conference to lead his league in both points and assists since Arizona's Jason Terry in 1998-99.

Jackson has the Big 12 Conference's longest active streak with 29 consecutive games scoring in double figures, averaging 18.8 points and 6.1 assists per game during the streak. His active streak of 33 consecutive games with at least one three-point field goal made is the second-longest streak in Baylor history.

The list will be trimmed to five candidates in early March. A selection committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the final five candidates in contention for the nation's top collegiate point guard award. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Championship Monday in Atlanta as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Fans are able to vote for the top point guard at The player that receives the most fan votes will receive one vote toward the final committee vote. Fan voting will run one month, concluding March 7.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and last year's recipient Kendall Marshall (North Carolina).

2013 Bob Cousy Award Finalists
Keith Appling (Michigan State)
Lorenzo Brown (North Carolina State)
Trey Burke (Michigan)
*Aaron Craft (Ohio State)
*Matthew Dellavadova (Saint Mary's)
*Pierre Jackson (Baylor)
Shane Larkin (Miami)
*Phil Pressey (Missouri)
Peyton Siva (Louisville)
Marcus Smart (Oklahoma State)
Michael Carter-Williams (Syracuse)
Nate Wolters (South Dakota State)

* - 2012 Cousy Award finalists



Online Store