Skip to main content Skip to footer
Heslip and Neubert Named Academic All-Big 12

Senior Jacob Neubert has played in 13 games during his final season as a Bear.

Feb. 14, 2013

IRVING, Texas - Baylor men's basketball student-athletes Brady Heslip and Jacob Neubert were selected to the Academic All-Big 12 First Team, as announced by the league office Thursday. It marks the second time in program history the Bears have had two first-team honorees in the same season.

Heslip and Neubert join Josh Lomers and Mark Shepherd (2008) as the only Baylor teammates to earn first team honors in the same year. All told, Baylor has now had 13 first team honorees and six second team selections in the Big 12's 17 seasons. Heslip and Neubert are the eighth and ninth different Bears to earn first team honors.

Heslip, an Academic All-Big 12 Second Team selection during his debut season in Waco last year, is a junior general studies major from Burlington, Ontario, Canada. He's averaging 8.8 points in 23 games played this season. He ranks fourth in the Big 12 in both 3-point field goals made per game (2.3) and 3-point field goal percentage (39.7).

Heslip went 6-of-9 from 3-point range and finished with 20 points in Wednesday night's win over West Virginia that improved the Bears' Big 12 record to 7-4. He ranks eighth on Baylor's career 3-point field goals made list (154) and second on Baylor's career 3-point field goal percentage list (43.3).

Neubert, a Waco, Texas, native, is on track to graduate with a degree in accounting and finance in May. He was previously named to the fall 2012 Dean's List and Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll.

A 2011-12 NABC Honors Court selection, Neubert has played in 13 games this season, logging eight points, seven rebounds, two steals, one block and one assist in 27 total minutes played.

Baylor returns to action at 6 p.m. CT Saturday at Kansas State in a game that will be televised on ESPNU. The Bears' next home game, one of three remaining this season, is Wednesday against Iowa State and will tip off at 8 p.m.

1997 - Doug Brandt
1998 - John Perkins
2002 - Logan Kosmalski
2004 - Robbie McKenzie
2006 - Mark Shepherd
2008 - Josh Lomers
2008 - Mark Shepherd
2009 - Josh Lomers
2010 - Josh Lomers
2012 - Fred Ellis
2013 - Brady Heslip
2013 - Jacob Neubert



Online Store