Skip to main content Skip to footer
Ellis, Heslip Named Academic All-Big 12

Brady Heslip and Fred Ellis picked up Academic All-Big 12 honors.

Feb. 16, 2012

Complete Academic All-Big 12 Release (

IRVING, Texas –Baylor men’s basketball senior Fred Ellis and sophomore Brady Heslip were selected to the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 first and second team, respectively, the league office announced Thursday.

Ellis, who is pursuing his master’s degree in sports management, is the seventh first-team Academic All-Big 12 selection under ninth-year head coach Scott Drew. The Sacramento, Calif., native is part of the program’s winningest senior class, which has won 92 career games.

Ellis was also a member of the Baylor Sports Ministry Team that traveled to Kenya in May 2010 for a mission trip. He is averaging 2.2 points and 1.9 rebounds in 97 career games. A three-time Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll member, Ellis became the first member of his family to graduate college in December 2010 when he received his bachelor’s degree in speech communications. He is on pace to graduate in May with his master’s degree.

Heslip is the sixth second-team Academic All-Big 12 selection in the Drew era. The Burlington, Ontario, native is averaging 9.0 points and 2.4 made 3-point field goals in 26 games in his first season at Baylor. He is shooting 43.7 percent from 3-point range and 92.0 percent from the free throw line. Sixty-two of Heslip’s 75 made field goals this season have come from beyond the 3-point arc.

A three-time Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll selection since transferring in June 2010, Heslip has trained with Canada’s Development and Senior Men’s National teams each of the last two summers.

First-team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, while the second-team selections hold a 3.00-3.19 GPA. To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher – either cumulative or the two previous semesters – and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

In all, 20 student-athletes were named to the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 Men’s Basketball Team. Eleven of the 20 honorees reside on the first team, while nine members make up the second team. Iowa State recorded the most overall accolades with four, including three first-team selections.

Follow the Official Twitter feed of Baylor Basketball, @BaylorMBB.

1997 Doug Brandt first team
1998 John Perkins first team
1999 Justin Allen honorable mention
Grant McCasland honorable mention
2002 Logan Kosmalski first team
Chad Henry second team
Kevin Henry second team
Andre White second team
2003 Andre White second team
2004 Robbie McKenzie first team
2006 Mark Shepherd first team
Aaron Bruce second team
2008 Josh Lomers first team
Mark Shepherd first team
2009 Josh Lomers first team
2010 Josh Lomers first team
2012 Fred Ellis first team
Brady Heslip second team



Online Store