Skip to main content Skip to footer
Heslip and Lowery Earn Academic All-Big 12

Brady Heslip has earned Academic All-Big 12 honors in all three seasons playing at Baylor.

Feb. 26, 2014

IRVING, Texas - Baylor men's basketball student-athletes Brady Heslip and Logan Lowery were selected to the Academic All-Big 12 First Team, as announced by the league office Wednesday. With the honor, Heslip joins Josh Lomers as the only players in program history to earn Academic All-Big 12 honors in three seasons.

Heslip and Lowery give the Bears back-to-back seasons with two first-team honorees, after Heslip and Jacob Neubert earned recognition a season ago. It's the third time in program history the Bears have had multiple first-team honorees, with Lomers and Mark Shepherd selected in 2008. Heslip also joins Lomers as the only players in program history to earn first-team recognition in consecutive seasons.

All told, Baylor has now had 15 first-team honorees and six second team selections in the Big 12's 18 seasons. Lowery is the 10th different BU player to earn first-team honors.

Heslip, a senior general studies major from Burlington, Ontario, Canada, is now a three-time honoree. He was named to the second team during his debut season in Waco in 2011-12, and he picked up first-team honors last year. Heslip leads the Big 12 with a .467 3-point field goal percentage and 3.1 3-pointers made per game.

Lowery, a junior from Kingwood, Texas, has played 23 minutes over nine games off the bench in 2013-14. He's scored 9 points and grabbed 4 rebounds to go with 2 assists.

Baylor returns to action at 8 p.m. CT Wednesday when it travels to Austin to face Texas at the Erwin Center. That game will be televised on ESPNU. The Bears have two remaining home games, taking on Texas Tech at 12:30 p.m. Saturday and Iowa State on senior night at 6 p.m. Tuesday.

1997 - Doug Brandt
1998 - John Perkins
2002 - Logan Kosmalski
2004 - Robbie McKenzie
2006 - Mark Shepherd
2008 - Josh Lomers
2008 - Mark Shepherd
2009 - Josh Lomers
2010 - Josh Lomers
2012 - Fred Ellis
2013 - Brady Heslip
2013 - Jacob Neubert
2014 - Brady Heslip

2014 - Logan Lowery



Online Store