Skip to main content Skip to footer
MBB Trio Honored by Big 12 Coaches
March 4, 2018

IRVING, Texas - Three Baylor basketball players were recognized with Big 12 yearly awards, as voted on by the league's coaches and announced Sunday morning by the conference office.

Senior forward Terry Maston won the league's Sixth Man Award, while senior guard Manu Lecomte was selected to the All-Big 12 Second Team and senior forward Jo Lual-Acuil Jr. was named to the All-Big 12 Third Team.

Maston is the fourth player in program history to win the Big 12 Sixth Man Award, and the Bears have now had the league's Sixth Man of the Year in four of the last 10 seasons. LaceDarius Dunn was honored as a freshman in 2009, Quincy Acy was recognized as a junior in 2011, Taurean Prince was selected as a junior in 2015 and Maston was tabbed as a senior this season.

A DeSoto, Texas native, Maston finished the regular season ranked 29th in the league in scoring (10.8), 14th in rebounding (5.6), ninth in field goal percentage (.525), 10th in offensive rebounding (2.2) and 16th in double-doubles (2). He led all Big 12 Conference reserves with five 20-point games in league play, and he was key to Baylor's late-season surge with four games of 23+ points in the second half of conference play, all of which were Baylor wins.

Lecomte and Lual-Acuil give Baylor multiple All-Big 12 honorees for a 12th consecutive season. Lecomte earned All-Big 12 recognition for a second straight season after being recognized on the third team a year ago, and Lual-Acuil repeated as an All-Big 12 honoree after picking up honorable mention recognition from the league's media last season. This is the fourth straight season that the league's coaches have voted multiple BU players to the three All-Big 12 teams.

Lecomte is one of nine players in program history to be selected to one of the three All-Big 12 teams by the league's coaches in consecutive seasons. He joins Brian Skinner (1997, 1998), Curtis Jerrells (2008, 2009), Dunn (2010, 2011), Perry Jones III (2011, 2012), Pierre Jackson (2012, 2013), Rico Gathers (2015, 2016), Taurean Prince (2015, 2016) and Johnathan Motley (2016, 2017).

A Brussels, Belgium native, Lecomte finished the regular season ranked eighth in the Big 12 in scoring (15.7), ninth in assists (3.6), first in free throw percentage (.886), fifth in 3-point field goals made per game (2.8), 11th in assist-to-turnover ratio (1.7) and ninth in minutes (33.9). His .886 free throw percentage ranks second in a single-season in program history behind Baylor 35th-year radio analyst Pat Nunley (.887 in 1979-80), and Lecomte's current .861 career free throw percentage is best in program history.

Lual-Acuil, a Melbourne, Australia native, finished the regular season ranked second in the league in double-doubles (13), 13th in scoring (14.4), third in rebounding (8.8), 11th in field goal percentage (.512), fifth in blocks (1.8), fourth in offensive rebounds (2.9), third in defensive rebounds (5.9) and 16th in minutes (31.2). His 20 rebounds on Dec. 17 were the most by a Big 12 player this season.

Lual-Acuil also shot .787 from the free throw line (37-of-47) in conference play, which was a 32 percent improvement from his .462 free throw percentage (18-of-39) in league play last season. His .787 free throw percentage in conference play this season ranked 15th in the Big 12. He finished second in the league with seven double-doubles in 17 games played during Big 12 play.

Baylor finished the regular season with an 18-13 record, including 8-10 in Big 12 play. The Bears tied for sixth place in the conference and earned the No. 6 seed for the 2018 Big 12 Championship. BU faces No. 3 seed West Virginia in the quarterfinals at 8 p.m. CT Thursday, March 8, at Kansas City's Sprint Center. The game will be televised on ESPN2 and WatchESPN.

Manu Lecomte
All-Big 12, Second Team (coaches)

Jo Lual-Acuil Jr.
All-Big 12, Third Team (coaches)

Terry Maston
Big 12 Sixth Man Award (coaches)

Player of the Year: Devonte' Graham (Kansas)
Defensive Player of the Year: Jevon Carter (West Virginia)
Newcomer of the Year: Malik Newman (Kansas)
Freshman of the Year: Trae Young (Oklahoma)
Sixth Man Award: Terry Maston (Baylor)
Coach of the Year: Chris Beard (Texas Tech) and Bill Self (Kansas)

First Team
Devonte' Graham (Kansas)
Dean Wade (Kansas State)
Trae Young (Oklahoma)
Keenan Evans (Texas Tech)
Jevon Carter (West Virginia)

Second Team
Manu Lecomte (Baylor)
Sviatoslav Mykhailiuk (Kansas)
Barry Brown Jr. (Kansas State)
Kenrich Williams (TCU)
Mohamed Bamba (Texas)

Third Team
Jo Lual-Acuil Jr. (Baylor)
Udoka Azubuike (Kansas)
Jeffrey Carroll (Oklahoma State)
Vladimir Brodziansky (TCU)
Sagaba Konate (West Virginia)

Honorable Mention: Cameron Lard (Iowa State), Donovan Jackson (Iowa State), Lindell Wigginton (Iowa State), Lagerald Vick (Kansas), Matt Coleman (Texas), Dylan Osetkowski (Texas), Kerwin Roach II (Texas), Zhaire Smith (Texas Tech).

All-Defensive Team
Barry Brown Jr. (Kansas State)
Mohamed Bamba (Texas)
Sagaba Konate (West Virginia)
Jevon Carter (West Virginia)
Zhaire Smith (Texas Tech)

All-Newcomer Team
Lindell Wigginton (Iowa State)
Malik Newman (Kansas)
Trae Young (Oklahoma)
Mohamed Bamba (Texas)
Zhaire Smith (Texas Tech)



Online Store