Lomers First Team Academic All-Big 12

March 5, 2009


Complete Academic All- Big 12 Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

IRVING, Texas – Baylor junior center Josh Lomers was selected to the 2009 Academic All-Big 12 Men’s Basketball Team, the league office announced. Lomers becomes the first Baylor player in the Big 12 era to earn back-to-back first-team honors.

Texas led the league with the most honorees, placing six student-athletes on the squad – four on the first team and two on the second.

Lomers is a human resources management and finance major and earns his second-straight Academic All-Big 12 selection. He has started Baylor’s last two contests and averaging 2.8 points in 8.2 minutes in 22 games played. He is shooting a team-best 71.4 percent from the floor and currently ranks fourth on the team in free throw percentage (72.4 percent).

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services and media relations offices, the men’s basketball academic all-league squad consisted of 17 first-team members combined with 11 on the second team. First-team members have recorded a 3.20 or better GPA, while the second team are those with a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or in the two previous semesters and have participated in 60 percent of his team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

The Baylor Bears return to action on Saturday when they host the Nebraska Cornhuskers in the regular season finale for both schools. Tip-off is scheduled for 3 p.m. at the Ferrell Center and will be broadcast live on the Big 12 Network.

1997: Doug Brandt (first team)
1998: John Perkins (first team)
1999: Austin Allen (honorable mention), Grant McCasland (honorable mention)
2002: Logan Kosmalski (first team), Chad Henry (second team), Kevin Henry (second team), Andre White (second team)
2003: Andre White (second team)
2004: Robbie McKenzie (first team)
2006: Mark Shepherd (first team), Aaron Bruce (second team)
2008: Josh Lomers (first team), Mark Shepherd (first team)
2009: Josh Lomers (first team)



Online Store